Big Brother’s Big Mouth (Again)

by

 Emily

George Galloway is helming the satellite show this week, and he’s doing a pretty good job of it. He takes it so bloody seriously, it’s hard not to stifle a chuckle as it’s like he’s roaming the American Senate again. It’s almost possible to forget the cat business.

Last night, he had a proper issue to get his teeth into.

It’s hard to imagine what’s going through the minds of Big Brother bosses at present. Probably some smugly self-congratulatory back-slapping going on over there, given their reaction to the racist language used by ex-housemate, Emily Parr in light of what happened last time. It was very much a run-of-the-mill Big Brother until Emily, brainless bozo that she is, remarked to Charley: ‘Are you pushing it out, you nigger?’ Now – whether she intended to sound ‘street’ as Gorgeous George asserted, or whether this language is so commonplace in her social network’s lexicon is pretty much irrelevant. I agreed with the general consensus in the studio. It was said to a relative stranger, flippantly, and it caused offence, so damn right she should be removed.

Charley’s reaction was fascinating to watch, for all the wrong reasons. Some may have thought she was trying to make a mountain out of a molehill, but they’d be wrong. I think she was genuinely having problems with the fact that the word was supposedly said in jest, yet she couldn’t assuage just why it had been said in the first place. She also knew the reaction would be harsh. You can’t fault her for panicking a little and discussing it with Nicky to straighten her thoughts out on the issue. She continued to speak to Emily in the aftermath, pursuing her reasons for speaking that way, but also made it clear she wasn’t judging her.

For the second time in two series, we’ve been privy to someone being offended in one of the most base ways imaginable. Without any thought about the actual meaning of the word, Emily allowed the word to ‘slip out’, she claimed. Without wanting to sound like a teacher, these words shouldn’t slip out and they also shouldn’t be among the mind’s options of words to use in any social situation. Self-censorship shouldn’t really have to come into play, in the same way that, whilst observing a friend’s young child, the words ‘nice arse’ wouldn’t just ‘slip out’ under any circumstances.

BBBM dealt with this fairly well, but it’s essential that Emily is provided with after-care and advice on how to deal with her situation. After all, the language in this context was not malicious. It was foolhardy, misjudged, misguided and fucking idiotic, but most importantly, offensive. All the same, it was simply that, an act of foolishness which may offend, so I think any tabloid lynching should be put on hold.

All in all, the whole situation only makes the Shilpa Shetty incident earlier in the year seem even more rank. Why wasn’t Jade removed from the house? Why is Danielle still tabloid fodder? Their use of language was clearly vindictive but it was allowed to have carried on. At least we’re being reminded that Channel 4 haven’t been sufficiently punished for their lack of action last time around.

Here’s the clip:

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

35 Responses to “Big Brother’s Big Mouth (Again)”

  1. Napoleon Cockaparte Says:

    “Without wanting to sound like a teacher, these words shouldn’t slip out and they also shouldn’t be among the mind’s options of words to use in any situation”

    Here here! I propose we burn all copies of Nathan Barley and Pulp Fiction – two more situations where inappropriate words slipped out of the minds of writers.

    Or is usage of the word ‘nigger’ exempt if it’s cool or ironic (despite still being written by white guys)?

  2. Swineshead Says:

    I’m talking socially rather than scripted – or was Pulp Fiction improvised?

  3. Rosszszsss Says:

    “Here here! I propose we burn all copies of Nathan Barley and Pulp Fiction – two more situations where inappropriate words slipped out of the minds of writers.”

    ‘Oooh dear, Nathan Barley’ was my first thought when I watched Emily inadvertently sign her own eviction warrant last night. Unfortunately Emily had kind of missed the joke.

    I agree with SH – it’s not a word that someone with any sensitivity or sense would consider using, ESPECIALLY when talking to a black person you’d met only a few days before. What was she thinking?!

  4. Napoleon Cockaparte Says:

    Then don’t write ‘in any situation’ … a bit Thought Policey

  5. Swineshead Says:

    I see yer point NC… I might even amend it.

  6. orbtastic Says:

    If she meant it in an ironic or “street” sense, then surely the “you” part is utterly redundant?

  7. orbtastic Says:

    Ah bollocks, it’s auto logged me in. It’s Matt btw.

  8. Swineshead Says:

    Precisely, Matt. My caucasian.

  9. orbtastic Says:

    Cheers blood.

  10. Badger Madge Says:

    Also, the fact that she brushed it off as a joke when the other two were clearly offended and shocked was terrible. She only genuinely apologised when she found out she was being asked to leave – her giggled apology before hand was nothing.

    I don’t think Charley was milking it at all. If someone said something like that to me Id be just as shocked and confused as to why and how someone I thought was my mate could come out with something like that.

    A tad ironic that Emily’s home town (Bristol) was the epi-centre of the British slave trade… (But we’re not all like that in the West, I promise.)

  11. Rosszszsss Says:

    At least she didn’t cry in the diary room, that would have been even more cringeworthy (almost as much as her justification of “I have plenty of black friends”, the most hackneyed way to ‘prove’ you’re not a racist!

  12. Nick of the T Says:

    Ahem, as this seams to be my only way of communicating today, I shall.

    There was an interesting interview with one of the top bods at C4 on the Tday programme on Radio 4 this morning. It made it on to the podcast so any itunes users can hear it with their ears. Look, they are all just ghastly. I have never ever used that word and never will, it would ever slip out as it just isn’t in my cunting vocab.

    Who needs EC eh?

    *sobs*

  13. piqued Says:

    …in the diary room she was more concerned about showing her mimsy than apologising.

    I agree, she had to go, as I mentioned in today’s piqued (clang)

    According to The Sun, she has a bit of a reputation for using the ‘n’ word

    http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2003230001-2007260564,00.html

  14. Swineshead Says:

    ‘According to the Sun’ – sorry, I should probably translate – that means ‘take no notice of the following link whatsoever’.

  15. piqued Says:

    Of course, I’m merely adding some sauce to the beef

  16. Joe C Says:

    And a delicious sauce it is too. You’re quite the cook.

  17. Swineshead Says:

    Beef’s a bit stringy mind – where did you find the carcass?

  18. piqued Says:

    Joe C, have you been sampling sauce a la piqued?

    The ladies love it too, you with me? eh? eh?

    *faints*

  19. Joe C Says:

    Yes, Piqued me old son, I’m properly with you.

    *gargles with Piqued’s special sauce, pukes, reingests expelled substances, becomes invincible, rules the world*

  20. piqued Says:

    Shit, I should try that, I’ve a ready supply

    *wanks into cup, gargles with it, pukes, reingests it, get’s caught by passing member of the public, arrested, sectioned*

  21. bunnyperson Says:

    yeah, i buy that the charley girl was a bit shocked to start with, but when she told every sod in the house adding, that she had agreed not to say anything – personally she discredited herself in my eyes. do i think she made a mountain out of a mole hill? yes. you could almost see the whole thing spinning past her eyes as it was said, with the events from the last series.. she was clearly overwhelmed about how much focus it would place on her afterwards.

    emily had to be removed, no doubt.

    hello everybody 🙂

  22. bunnyperson Says:

    ps. BBBM, hard to believe, the drivel is even worse than last year. russell brand did my head in, and george is pure torture to watch.

    dermot should do every associated show for BB. the end.

  23. Swineshead Says:

    Even as a cynic, I am shocked at your cynicism Bunny.

  24. piqued Says:

    As a new Cynic 2000 with automatic transmission and high lift cams I’d like to say shocked and disgusted I am at Bunny’s comments

    Hi Bunny, hi everyone ; )

    I LUV U GUYZ

    *has nervous breakdown*

  25. bunnyperson Says:

    *goes a bit red*

    well, just being honest. charley doesn’t strike me as the sensitive type. but she knows what she wants to get out of the house, and it’s just been handed to her on a silver plate.

    i, on the otherhand, am clearly very sensitive. (sorry).

  26. bunnyperson Says:

    (whispers)

    it’s just the way i see it. i’m not going to lie about it to gain popularity points. she didn’t demonstrate any feelings of the contrary, to me.

    i’m not making light of what emily said, because at the end of the day, charleys reaction is unimportant. it’s the great wide world that you have to consider, and for those reasons emily should be jailed or something.

    *redeems self*

  27. piqued Says:

    I see you use apply the colour ‘silver’ when mentioing Charley

    u r a raycist and WWM will not tolerate such behaviour

    PLEASE LEAVE THE WWM HOUSE

    PLEASE LEAVE THE WWM HOUSE

    PLEASE… ETC

  28. Nick of the T Says:

    So was it Nikki Sullivans boyfriend who had a sex change?

    *walks into wall*

  29. Rosszszsss Says:

    Bunny – when I was watching it I thought that at first Charley was genuinely shocked and a bit upset but I too got the impression that she had one eye on the game.

    I hated the “I don’t want to make a big deal of this so I’m not going to tell you WHAT she said but I’m going to keep making oblique references to it till everyone has guessed” thing that she was doing in the bedroom with Ziggy and Chanelle (Chiggy as they shall henceforth be known).

    Of course Emily should have been booted out, but Charley took the opportunity to stir wherever possible the minute she walked into the house and this episode was no exception.

  30. Swineshead Says:

    I think Charley was actually going out of her way not to label Emily a racist, because if she admitted that she felt it was a racist comment, she was worried that would make it sound like she was herself, personally offended. She was just trying to communicate that, but she’s as thick as two short planks, so it came out as a blathering mess.

  31. bunnyperson Says:

    we have female intuition ross. (the advantage).

    *wins*

    ps. nick, didn’t that all come out years ago??

  32. Nick of the T Says:

    ps.

    Yes I know but I don’t watch the bb or bbbbbbmbmmbmmm especially as the Brand is absent.

    I’ve lost something v important at work and can’t lose myself in “you know what” as I usually do.

    Inside my head I am screaming.

    *beheads student*

  33. Rosszszsss Says:

    SH – Charley made more and more of a bigger deal of it as she realised what political capital she could make of it. She wanted Shabnam to stay over Emily, and this was a very easy way of doing it.

    I am not for one second saying that she SHOULDN’T find it shocking/offensive/disgusting etc that Emily used that language, however her initial “I’m not offended, I just think it’s fucking weird that you’d say that, let’s drop it now” stance wasn’t borne out by the fact that she managed to mention it to every member of the house within about 40 minutes.

  34. Swineshead Says:

    I honestly think that’s a cynical view of it, but who knows, my view might change when I see how she reacts to Emily’s vanishing.

  35. piqued Says:

    I can tell you, she was pissing herself laughing all last night when Ziggy was crying his guts out

Leave a Reply

