The Street

by

Not often you’ll see a good review on this horrible, bile-filled website, but if you saw The Street last night you’ll probably agree that it deserves a mention.

I’ve only seen a few episodes of Cracker in my time and The Lakes had that ‘orrible John Simm in it (who is probably lovely but who I can’t bear), so I’m not really au fait with Jimmy McGovern’s output, shamefully. On the strength of this I’ll have to revise that fact with a few DVD boxsets. This was bloody ace.

The Street last night featured David Thewlis, who was a revelation in Mike Leigh’s ‘Naked’ all those years ago, and who didn’t disappoint last night as a pair of identical twins. Without spoiling the plot in case you’ve recorded in on your old skool VHS or one of those infernal little Sky+ things, the story revolved around one twin inhabiting the life of his deceased brother after witnessing his death. The whole thing reeked of quality and as it was on the BBC, was uninterrupted by advertising. This meant a solid hour of quality entertainment on British terrestial television – probably a first for a good few years.

Sorry for the scant writing on WWM this week. There’s been so much unremarkable shite on, it’s actually broken a few records. Even Dragons’ Den’s become a boring, flabby titwank.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

23 Responses to “The Street”

  1. wally bazoom Says:

    It was ace, like some mad lost episode of Tales Of The Unexpected. Bagsy the sherbet.

    Seek and find Jim Broadbent’s episode from the first series, it is great, probably the best thing I’ve ever seen on British tv.

  2. Swineshead Says:

    I might well do that. Your mention of Tales of the Unexpected me reminded me of a Seinfeld quote:

    – It’s like that episode of The Twilight Zone where he wakes up and he’s different to everyone else.
    – Which one?
    – All of them.

  3. Who Says:

    I’ve never seen a good review of anything on this website (apart from LOTSW) – I’m disoriented, to say the least.

    I am viewing WWM through new eyes. You watch something, write nice words about it, saying it’s good and that, so therefore you’re recommending it to the likes of me. So, if I can tear myself away from re-runs of KUA, I’ll watch it on the catch up telly bit.

    This is an exciting day, rather like the one when I let our lord Jesus into my life.

    Thank you.

  4. Swineshead Says:

    Sorry Who – it won’t happen again.

  5. Who Says:

    Make sure it doesn’t – an entire item without mentioning wanking or tits? Hang your head in shame, SH.

  6. Swineshead Says:

    I’ve amended that in the last sentence so we’re back to normal.
    Huzzah!

  7. piqued Says:

    Mate, ‘huzzah’ is well out of order.

    You simply can’t be saying things like that in this day and age.

    You pig.

  8. Swineshead Says:

    Fuck. I’ve upset everyone this week.

    ‘Yippee’?

  9. piqued Says:

    THERE U GO AGAYN

    ‘YIP*EE’ IS RAYSCISTZ

    I WAS SHOPPING EARLIER AND I SAW SOME STUF BY FRED PERRY. IF YOU SWAP THE FIRST LETTER OF EACH WORD YOU GET PED FERRY

    PED

    THINK ABOUT IT

    DISGUSTINSZ

  10. Swineshead Says:

    Thay’re cloths ar basikly ships 4 pedos to swim abowt in itz disigustin qite rite piqd

  11. piqued Says:

    i no, they get all litle kidss frum ayshire and ofer them sweetts 4 showing a bottums

    they shuld all b hunged if u ask me (not the kidYz of corse ahahahahahahahahapisN)

  12. Napoleon Cockaparte Says:

    What the hell are you two blathering on about?

  13. piqued Says:

    And where the hell have you been? We’ve been worried sick

  14. Napoleon Cockaparte Says:

    I was trying to kill myself with drink in Minehead.

  15. piqued Says:

    Well you wait til your father gets home

  16. Napoleon Cockaparte Says:

    It’s been eight years and counting since I saw the old man. How long am I supposed to wait for him exactly? Eh?

  17. Who Says:

    I sort of promised SH I’d watch it and I did.

    Nice enough idea, well cast and acted, etc but I just couldn’t believe they didn’t see through him – I could smell the difference between him and his brother straightaway – oh, yes. Not in a pervy way you understand, I don’t make a habit of going around smelling people.

    Talking of pervy ways, are we getting any more NIB action, NC? You can’t just leave folk dangling with their tongues hanging out, you drunken beanteaser.

  18. Napoleon Cockaparte Says:

    My apologies, Mr. Who. I’ll be updating Nigella In Beans when I’ve got over the terminal illness I think I’ve given m’self after two days of doing nothing but drinking.

  19. Swineshead Says:

    (PSSST)

    Who’s a ‘she’…

  20. Napoleon Cockaparte Says:

    Mrs. Who … sorry … it’s hardly made bloody obvious, is it?

  21. Who Says:

    I’ll change my name to Nursie Big Tits if it makes you happier..

  22. piqued Says:

    Please

  23. Napoleon Cockaparte Says:

    It would make life a little easier.

Leave a Reply

