Blood, Sweat and T Shirts

by

It’s actually quite difficult to know where to begin with this – with people who don’t know they’re born, who don’t know about human suffering and who don’t understand anything other than their own desultory, vapid existence – and even struggle with that.

This mini-series was made as part of BBC3’s Thread project – a worthwhile but not-very-well-publicised campaign for eco-clothing and fair trade. It’s not something I’m particularly interested in, as it happens. I describe my own style, my own personal sartorial vibe as ‘tramp de la jour’ or ‘affluent curmudgeon’. Basically, I tend to find clothes in dustbins and discarded in puddles so that I end up looking like a tramp who’s one rung up from rock bottom. Despite this detachment, it’s hard not to applaud any movement that attempts to grab those twats who spend two hundred quid in Primark every weekend by the shoulders and shake so much sense into them that their brains haemmorhage.

I remember the glory days when fashion would only take up a couple of pages in a newspaper at a maximum, once a week. Now it’s dripping off every current affairs periodical, with comment, discussion, adulation and piss-taking in every margin of every wretched page. I couldn’t tell you why. Fashion is the the most pointless of all industries. It’s people dressing idiotically in the vain hope they might catch another idiot’s eye for five minutes. And after that five minutes is up, the look becomes ‘so five minutes ago’, making the whole exercise more transient than a transit van going at full pelt along an empty runway.

So – and I think we all agree on this – even a tiny smudge of a passing interest in anything to do with fashion is the mark of an idiot. With this in mind, let us look at the central premise of Blood, Sweat and T Shirts.

Six Westerners, all of them fashion victims, are sent over to India to see how their garments are made. The four parts take us in sequence from the higher class of factory in episode one (still paying workers a pittance, but at least hygenic and safe) to, as I write, part three which took our travellers to a cotton plantation where they picked the cotton buds from the source, before working to gather it and bundle it. Living conditions are very, very basic and work is hard, strenuous work. Part four will hopefully see them losing a hand in some rusty machinery because, to a man, these are the worst group of snivelling idiots you could ever hope to see. And three of them are particularly odious examples of the offspring our nation is plopping out.

Okay, so Georgina is just a little bit thick. Fair enough, Stacey is your unremarkable airhead, and at least she puts in a bit of work. I’ll admit that Tara actually appears to be learning something from the experience – so fair play for that. It doesn’t make them any more likeable, but I admire the fact they got involved.

Despite these three showing, at last, some vestige of being adjusted and functioning, the remaining three are grade ‘A’ arseholes. Irredeemable twats. Especially Richard. By Christ, especially Richard.

First off, Amrita is a spoiled little rich girl who I believe is of second generation Indian ethnicity. Ok, so that might be too distant for her to feel genuine empathy for people from her own background, but still it was surprising to see her slagging off the natives of the country where her ancestors were born for being ‘dirty’ and ‘rude’. In fact, I’ll go further. It was fucking disgusting and she should be beaten with a fucking stick for her callous twattishness. She’s a posh little devil who honestly thinks she deserves the priviledge she was born into. Last night, after working in the cotton field for five minutes, she was delighted her eczema flared up, meaning she couldn’t continue and had to go back to the flat they were renting to do fuck all.

Slightly less irritating, but only because he’s so thick he’s unaware of what his huge, farting gob is going on about, is Mark. Mark lives with his Mum and is clearly unable to do anything for himself. At times Mark has put some effort in but he tends to throw tantrums the minute anyone touches him. He also dresses like any clone who walks out of Next or Top Man and he talks in mono-syllables. Luckily, he’s quite easy to ignore. Unlike Richard.

Richard wants to look like Alex Zane (fuck knows why), and he pulls this off – he too looks like a berk. But where Alex Zane is presumably capable of logical thought, Richard is a toothy, weepy, fuckhead with nothing going for him whatsoever. Apparently he runs his own ad agency and is on fifty grand a year (must be a small ad agency then)  – but I refuse to believe this on the basis that he is utterly, utterly stupid. The world has never known stupidity like this. Seriously.

The object of this show is to replicate the experience of your average sweatshop worker – and even then I’m sure they’ve sanitised it somewhat. When Richard felt a little bit tired, in the middle of a crowded cafe, he began a tirade against the dirty, disgusting, rude, peasants he worked amongst (his words, not mine). He was so loud, he disturbed those around him, one man in particular took offence (and rightly so) and attempted to assuage the anger, only to receive more hot air from the stupid cunt.

Richard’s threatened to leave a few hundred times and I’m sure I’m not alone when I wish he’d just piss off and leave the others to it. He’s incapable of learning anything about Indian culture and he refuses to engage with the workers. His reasons for feeling no sympathy for the workers early on was that they, he reasoned, could surely find a way out of the slums. Citing his own climb to ‘the top’, he said that any man could make their own way in the world, forgetting that he comes from one of the wealthiest countries in the world and was surely given more than a leg up from his old man. Even the slightest bit of research would tell you that these people have no choice. You don’t even need evidence, Richard! Look around you!

To add to this, he also didn’t realise cotton comes from plants. Richard is the personification of our idiot youth – that percentage of our kids who are over-exposed, over-priviledged and who deserve to be flogged.

The final episode is next week. For editorial purposes, there’ll be the inevitable end of ‘the journey’ tears and a montage of edits wherein all the participants are shown to have learned something. Don’t believe it. Amrita and Richard in particular are learning fuck all. They haven’t got the capacity to see beyond their own material, pointless lives. They’re dumbed down dickheads and they should be left to survive in the slums. They haven’t an ounce of the dignity of the people they work around in this series, and if left to their own devices in that environment, minus camera crews and production staff, they’d be trying to eat their own shit and living in trees, so devoid are they of common sense.

You might be able to tell, this show upsets me a little bit. The final edit is trying to tell its own story – of six youngsters realising where their easily gained possessions come from. But the programme does more than that, as despite attempts to cover over the cracks, what we actually see is a handful of pig-headed twats realising nothing and revealing everything that’s bad about our throwaway culture. At least, for an hour per week, we get to see them suffer.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

123 Responses to “Blood, Sweat and T Shirts”

  1. CJ Says:

    “even a tiny smudge of a passing interest in anything to do with fashion is the mark of an idiot.” – Wow, sweeping statement.

  2. Badger Madge Says:

    “even a tiny smudge of a passing interest in anything to do with fashion is the mark of an idiot.” – Wow, sweeping statement.

    I agree (that it’s sweeping). How very dare you! I was having this exact conversation with a holier-than-thou mate the other day and eventually made her see how my style is my way of expressing myself through the clothes I wear. It’s (and sorry for sounding poncy but it’s true) my art in a way. It’s the best way I know of to let off some creative steam. Yes, I write, but my clothes are where my artistic side comes into the fray.

    This is, of course, not at all the same as NEEDING to wear the latest trends, or emblasoning Nike logos across your chest. But I do buy a lot of clothes. And I do shop in Primark. And I do know that’s a Very Bad Thing. And I am sorry.

    So poo to you and your puke splattered cravat.

  3. Clarys Says:

    Tsk tsk! I’m with Badger and CJ – fashion is a fantastic thing! I think you’re mistaking fashion for haute couture, for supermodels, for the Victoria Beckhams of this world. They’re not fashion, they’re dickheads.

    Having you’re own sense of style, dressing in a way that makes you feel good, or just finding something that you know is perfect for you – ok, it’s never going to change the world, but does it matter? Of course not. Fashion trends are entirely fleeting, but it doesn’t make them any less interesting or valid. I enjoy clothes, especially accessories and retro/50’s outfits, and maybe that makes me shallow and tragic, but I do think it’s a titchy bit unfair to tar everyone who likes a pretty dress with the same brush.

  4. Swineshead Says:

    It was hyperbole, obviously and only a trace of my own, individual feeling.

    Having said that, part of me really does believe that if you judge someone by how they dress, or indeed if you want to be judged on how you look, you don’t have a leg to stand on when all your pals turn out to be idiots.

    My missus loves fashion mags etc… it’s a light-hearted dig and an easy way to get an intro for the review out of the way. Don’t be personally offended!

    Anyone see the show, out of interest?

  5. Swineshead Says:

    ‘Fashion trends are entirely fleeting, but it doesn’t make them any less interesting or valid.’

    Yes it does.

  6. Badger Madge Says:

    To continue the trend of quoting each other…

    “if you judge someone by how they dress, or indeed if you want to be judged on how you look, you don’t have a leg to stand on when all your pals turn out to be idiots.”

    OK. A bloke goes into a bar. There are two ladies standing there. One is in a gorgeous sexy dress that makes her boobs look lush and her legs go on for miles. The other is wearing horribly unflattering jeans and a baggy t shirt with a stain on it.

    Who does the bloke buy a drink?

    I hate the way blokes are always going on about them not caring about fashion, and that us ladies are so shallow for liking nice things, and yet they’re the first to oggle at a short skirt, or low-cut top. Makes me sooooo angry.

  7. Swineshead Says:

    I wouldn’t buy either a drink as I’m hitched.

    Also, I don’t tend to ogle ladies.

    I honestly couldn’t give a shit about fashion, BM. It’s a total and utter waste of time, energy and money.

  8. Badger Madge Says:

    Ah you say that but people make subconscious judgements on what people are wearing all the time. You don’t even know you’re doing it.

  9. Badger Madge Says:

    And, hey, can we differentiate between FASHION and STYLE. There *is* a massive difference…

  10. Swineshead Says:

    I only mentioned fashion, as in the industry, in the article.

    Yes, I make judgements all the time. These tend to be along the lines of:

    Skull and crossbones socks = TWAT
    Luminous ray bans = TWAT
    Tweed jacket / t shirt combo = TWAT
    Small french style beret – TWAT
    Anyone who dresses like The Klaxons – TWAT
    Those fucking middle eastern scarfs = TWAT
    Agnes Dean (or however you spell her made up name) = TWAT

  11. Badger Madge Says:

    See?! Whether you like it or not, you’re clearly judging people on the clothes they wear! So how can you possibly “not give a shit” about it? If you really didn’t give a shit, you’d not even notice people who dress like the Klaxons. You’d have one massive clothes blind spot.

    I win.

  12. Swineshead Says:

    No – you fucking lose.

    THEY give a shit about it to the extent they’ve gone to such lengths as to look like comical buffoons. I have not made a judgement byond the one that was forced on me. I’d rather they dressed without such unstinting vanity so they didn’t catch my eye, I really would.

    Think about it BM, for fuck’s sake.

    Of course I make evaluations, I never said I didn’t.

  13. Swineshead Says:

    One more time, did you see the fucking programme?

  14. Swineshead Says:

    Also – saying ‘you notice people wear clothes so you must be interested in fashion’ is like saying ‘because you can read you must be well read’. Doesn’t work.

    Sorry for all my effing and blinding, the tv show really wound me up.

    *sobs*

  15. piqued Says:

    ‘Skull and crossbones socks = TWAT’

    Oh.

    Still, I’ve been wearing shit like that since I was 17 which doesn’t make it ‘fashion’ strictly speaking

  16. Swineshead Says:

    Depends how you wear ’em Piqued. I’ve seen tossers wearing bicycle clips so they could show off their designer ones…

    Clearly I’ve upset a few people on this here post.

    I DIDN’T MEAN IT. COME BACK!

  17. badgermadge Says:

    I’m OK with your comments on the industry –º it *is* ridiculous. But then they probably think our industry is a load of wank too, whereas we, of course, know that it’s the Most Important Thing In The World.

    I didn’t see the prog. But I must argue against sweeping comments like everyone who cares about fashion/style is a wanker. Because I do. And I’m sooo not.

    Schweedie *air kisses*

  18. Swineshead Says:

    Sweeping statements generate comments.

    Next week: I’ve never met a nice postman.

  19. badgermadge Says:

    Me neither

  20. beth Says:

    I feel fortunate in that I don’t know what the Klaxons look like – but am now terrified that I might, unintentionally, be dressed like them ….

    (no, I didn’t see the programme – but I think I get the gist of it)

  21. Swineshead Says:

    Wow – just googled Richard and here is his view on the show – bottom comment:

    http://www.indigoclothing.com/blog/blood-sweat-and-t-shirts/

    He was misrepresented apparently.
    Quite how that’s possible when he was clearly heard to say the most offensive things possible about his hosts eludes me. The twat.

  22. piqued Says:

    Well, I like to wear them on my feet SH

    You can’t see them anyway and I’ve no reason to show them off, yeah

    I walk alone

  23. Swineshead Says:

    Beth – I am angry – it happens sometimes when I watch people like Richard twatting about on the TV.

    I don’t really mean to be mean to those who like reading fashion mags etc…

    On a vaguely related topic, I was buying some mousetraps in Hackney the other day, and a big pot of white paint. The lead singer of the Klaxons walked in, looked around, then pissed off again. It was weird.

  24. Napoleon Says:

    Afternoon.

  25. Swineshead Says:

    Now then.

  26. Napoleon Says:

    ‘S’all a bit ornery in ‘ere today, ain’t it? Like?

  27. Swineshead Says:

    Eh?

    Now look – talk about the tv programme, I know you saw it.

  28. Napoleon Says:

    OK. I thought the children (I’m damned if I’m calling that shower adults) in this show were spoilt, greedy, stupid, self-absorbed, ignorant pigs. In fact, they reminded me of just about everyone under 25 I’ve bumped into over the last two years. Richard’s bovine approach to another culture just about sums up his generation’s bewildering ignorance. Mind you, when you’ve been spoilt from birth, been taught that privilege is a human right, and that greed and rampant consumerism are normal – and all without ever being informed your decadent lifestyle has consequences for people in places like India – what do you expect? P’raps if we’d not decided to bring this lot in the same gluttonous way Americans raise their kids, then we now wouldn’t have so many fuckwitted, clueless dingbats knocking around. Still, they look GREAT wearing mirrored aviator shades at midnight.

  29. Swineshead Says:

    I think Richard was described as being brought up on a council estate… so that makes my assumption in the article wrong. He’s still a twat.

  30. Napoleon Says:

    It doesn’t matter where this little idiot was dragged up. His outburst at the hygiene standards of the Indians, his moronic belief that someone who works fourteen hours a day could still better their life with night school (!), his pathetic inability to do even the most basic of tasks, and, most of all, his filthy rant at the country, the culture, and the people that surrounded him was a fucking disgrace. The man who confronted him in the cafe had every right to tear the spoilt little bastard’s head off. By God, I’ve shouted at the TV before, but never so much as I have when watching that dunderheaded little bastard.

  31. piqued Says:

    ‘being brought up on a council estate’ is wheeled out time and time again in order to justify someones bad behaviour or give them some sort of patronising ‘oooh didn’t he do well’ kudos.

    Virtually all the kids I grew up with were from council estates, all had 2 eyes and their own teeth.

  32. Swineshead Says:

    I wasn’t excusing him, alright? I was just saying that my assertion that his Dad helped him out was only that – an assumption. I agree with you 100%.

    Anyway, loads of rich folk live on council estates these days.

  33. Swineshead Says:

    PS – Have put a youtube link at the top of the article, just as an illustration of his idiocy.

  34. Napoleon Says:

    Hear hear. There’s plenty of people who grow up on council estates who don’t use it as an excuse to justify their staggering ignorance and appalling behaviour. If this guy’s working class, then he’s a disgrace to that class. It’s worth finding Richard’s cafe outburst online, if you can. I don’t know what stinks more – the tirade itself, or the way he lied and wormed his way out of it when someone confronted him about it.

  35. Napoleon Says:

    Ah, there you go. A pig. Indeed, a colonial-era pig.

  36. piqued Says:

    Jesus, we’re all agreeing

    *wanks*

  37. John Q Wagonwheel Says:

    Sure, they have to use a sewing machine a bit, but what about the poor BBC3 network execs? They have to work ridiculous hours every day trying to find the most idiotic people in the country. That’s gruelling work. They have to traipse through X Factor audition queues, Jeremy Kyle show audiences and Camden bars for up to 8 hours a day. And just so that your pittance of a licence fee can go to bring you quality idiot-based tv, so you have stuff to review. It sickens me. You all need to go to night school.

  38. John Q Wagonwheel Says:

    It’s a perfect day and I’m off to do Arabic flash cards in gordon square gardens aaall afternoon. Can’t waste this!

  39. badgermadge Says:

    Sorry to gratuitously plug, but BMTV is back!

    http://bmtv.wordpress.com/2008/05/07/return-of-the-badger/

    and

    http://bmtv.wordpress.com/2008/05/07/the-summer-of-films-iron-man/

  40. piqued Says:

    *wanks more*

  41. clarky Says:

    Why are you all so opinionated!? The whole point of the show is to highlight the cultural differences, between the British and the Indian lifestyle. The aim of the program was to pick a number of different levels of intelligence and social class but all with one common interest: – disposible fashion; which isn’t just a reserve for the people in this program, every year Briton’s spend billions of pounds on it, which therefore suggests if your against the idea of fashion in general then you shouldn’t be watching the show, because it is of no interest to you what so ever.

    The people are refelctive of the target groups of budget fashion houses, their attitudes and opinions. The Brits are supposed to juxtapose the indian workers without their views and idiosyncrasies then there would be no purpose in the show, otherwise they’re it would just be a documentary – which I am sure the factory owners would oppose.

    I feel that the show has been highly informative and interesting.
    If I was to express my opinion, I would say that it is highly ironic that you watch shows and then ‘critically analyse’ them to little prevail because the series will be over next week. Most people flick over the T.V. and don’t spend they’re lunch hours complaining over a forum and making profane comments about ordinary people.

  42. John Q Wagonwheel Says:

    Have watched it now. Boy them kids is dumb. And selfish. And lazy. Bastards.

  43. Swineshead Says:

    Clarky – get fucked. And have an English lesson.

    JQW – yes, yes they are.

  44. Swineshead Says:

    Apprentice blog won’t be up till the afternoon as I’m too hungover and can’t remember anything that happened in it.

  45. piqued Says:

    ‘Most people flick over the T.V. and don’t spend they’re lunch hours complaining over a forum and making profane comments about ordinary people’

    I fucking well do you cunt

  46. Swineshead Says:

    Piqued – Clarky is Richard’s stalker, back off, he collects knives.

  47. Georgina Says:

    Wow…you people really need to get a life and a point. I totally agree with clarky. What are you all actually achieving right now. It would do you all good to read Richards following comment. After you have, then maybe you can comment. Also…what are u all getting so worked up about?? Richard’s language? You’d all be the same, if not worse judging by your language on this blog!

    Anyway, give the bloke a chance and read his comment.

    Richard
    Apr 25th, 2008 at 6:10 pm
    You see the sad thing about people like you is that one day you’re going to start doing some thinking of your own, (wow how scary no privately educated journalists or internet scholars to plagiarise thoughts and opinions from to pass off as your own. Your dinner parties will never be the same again! Image the horror when your friends find out that your once thought of as bright self actual spends the weeks reading Hello magazine, listening to censored, biased and laughably independent news channels, oh and not to forget ‘real life documentary’s’ tackling the true issues of the world by an independent broadcaster that of course only cares about the greater good of mankind.) you’ll suddenly come to stark realisations such as David Copperfield can’t actually make the Statue of Liberty disappear, Wars are fought over power and money not to preserve the safety of the innocent, reviewers are failed journalists that serve to provide entertainment for the masses that are so bitterly unhappy with their lives that ridicule and rigour to those generationally different from themselves is their only escape, political correctness causes more abomination than it prevents, and shock horror ‘real life’ documentary’s are made by commercially driven privately owned production companies. Whether it be through ignorance, naivety or just plain stupidity that you don’t realise that when over six hundred hours worth of footage is shot for a 4 hour mini-series you can just as easily portray somebody to be the spawn of Lucifer as you can a descendant of Christ himself. I cannot even begin to explain the amount of inconsistencies, misrepresentations and at times blatant lies that were in the first episode alone!
    Yes I accept that at times my choice of language wasn’t the most articulate and given the benefit of hindsight I should have toned down my level of obscenities. But to label me a spoilt brat or call me culturally ignorant because I found the conditions appalling is absurd. You may not have agreed with my choice of wording but I spoke the truth nevertheless when describing the environment I was in at the time, it was literally a sh*t hole. This is not to say that I had no compassion or sympathy for the people or I wasn’t completely outraged, appalled and disgusted at the conditions they lived in. The point I was making, which was obviously lost on many people amongst all the obscenities, as backed up by many a scholar throughout history is that in many ways the people I met contribute to their own downfall. If you still don’t believe this then I invite you to spend 6 weeks out there living and working alongside these people after which any criticism you want to point at me I will accept with open arms. But if like most I should imagine you’d prefer to scorn those that do care enough to investigate these conditions for themselves from your comfortable arm chair then I would ask you to not invoke the escape clause in your live and refrain from posting narrow minded comments about me on internet forums.

  48. Swineshead Says:

    I take it you’re Georgina from the show? Been googling yourself? You sad sod.

    I’d already read Richard’s comment – and linked to it if you hadn’t noticed.

    The problem with his diatribe is that he doesn’t realise the prominent point people are making about his performance. You were all too thick too learn anything. Here’s what Richard doesn’t realise.

    The stuff he said, no matter how it was edited, was xenophobic, offensive bullshit – and totally unacceptable.

    In the comment you quote, he says ‘the people I met contribute to their own downfall’ – which is a fucking TERRIBLE thing to say. Like blaming the fucking jews for the holocaust.

    Basically, he’s a rat-faced arsehole – and so are you.

  49. Swineshead Says:

    As for what I’ve achieved – a fuck sight more than you, no doubt, you gormless twat.

  50. Clarys Says:

    Hmm, he could do with editing that a bit. If only to correct the glaring grammatical errors, it rather dampens the power of the comment when you can hardly understand it.

  51. Clarys Says:

    When I say “he”, I do mean Richard, not Swineshead, obviously.

  52. Swineshead Says:

    Heaven forbid you meant me, Clarys.

    Looking at Richard’s comment, it seems he’s not only scared of Indians, punctuation also gives him the jitters.

    What a turd.

  53. Georgina Says:

    No, I’m actually not Georgina from the show at all, just for your information. And yes, I had noticed that you had put the link on here, but alot of people are quite lazy, so I thought I’d put it on here, to save them from clicking on it and finding it themselves.
    You really are a bit troubled aren’t u. I don’t know why you are so angry and aggressive. Maybe you should take a look at yourself before you start criticisng other people.

  54. Swineshead Says:

    ‘Maybe you should take a look at yourself before you start criticisng other people.’

    What an original concept. Has that ever been said before?

    You’re a bit like Jesus.
    Are you Richard’s girlfriend? If not, how the hell can you defend him?

  55. Clarys Says:

    Oh dear, I do hope we’re not resorting to classic psycho-babble claptrap to attempt one upmanship now. You know, the “people hate in others what they hate in themselves” type rubbish. It’s too lame for words.

  56. piqued Says:

    Any posts that begins with ‘Wow’ I refuse to read as I can guarantee what follows will be illiterate fucking shit –Swineshead has more tolerance than I but his comments seem to back up my theory.

  57. Badger Madge Says:

    This is so funny. I love it when people take y’all seriously. Comedy.

    More please Clarky and Georgina (that is, unless you’re busy doing more important things than coming on a blog to slag off people who comment on it – which is more than a bit odd if you ask me – of a lunch hour, of course…)

  58. Badger Madge Says:

    But which is better? Clarky or Georgina? There’s only one way to find out…

    FIGHT!

  59. Clarry Says:

    LOL!

    Reading these comments has really brightened my quite depressing morning (following the recent passing of my pet robin).

    I wonder if Richard will mull over his barely comprehensible ramblings in the future with scarlet, burning cheeks? The self-aggrandising little twerp.

  60. Swineshead Says:

    Yay – back up’s arrived!

    ‘You really are a bit troubled aren’t u.’

    Of course I bloody am! The people in BS&TSs trouble me more than you’ll ever know.

  61. Swineshead Says:

    Clarky needs a bit more of a reflective response, I feel:

    ‘Why are you all so opinionated!?’

    Because we’re not dead-headed buffoons like your good self?

    ‘The whole point of the show is to highlight the cultural differences, between the British and the Indian lifestyle.’

    No it’s not. It’s to demonstrate that often UK consumers have no idea where the shit they buy comes from, you complete and utter fuckwit.

    ‘The aim of the program was to pick a number of different levels of intelligence and social class but all with one common interest’

    Then why were they all affluent and in their mid twenties? Idiot.

    ‘ – disposible fashion; which isn’t just a reserve for the people in this program, every year Briton’s spend billions of pounds on it, which therefore suggests if your against the idea of fashion in general then you shouldn’t be watching the show, because it is of no interest to you what so ever.’

    Just because I don’t take much notice of fashion doesn’t mean I’m not interested in the careless exploitation of poverty-stricken workers by my fellow countrymen, you bozo.

    ‘The people are refelctive of the target groups of budget fashion houses, their attitudes and opinions.’

    And they’re all arseholes – you left that out.

    ‘The Brits are supposed to juxtapose the indian workers without their views and idiosyncrasies then there would be no purpose in the show, otherwise they’re it would just be a documentary – which I am sure the factory owners would oppose. ‘

    I don’t think any of the participants have ever actually done a hard day’s work in their fucking lives, the way they carry on. I’ve worked in many factories and if I’d behaved the way those wankers did, I’d have been fired on the spot.

    ‘I feel that the show has been highly informative and interesting.’

    You should try watching channels other than BBC3 and ITV, you mong.

    ‘If I was to express my opinion, I would say that it is highly ironic that you watch shows and then ‘critically analyse’ them to little prevail because the series will be over next week. Most people flick over the T.V. and don’t spend they’re lunch hours complaining over a forum and making profane comments about ordinary people.’

    ‘To little prevail’ doesn’t make any sense. Aside from that, why comment if you don’t like what we do? You’ve made yourself just as bad as us, you idiot! Piqued already told you that, but I’m reiterating it as I know information passes through your head like a fart in a wind-tunnel

  62. Badger Madge Says:

    I mentioned it too, actually, so that’s three times.

    Also the phrase “if I were to express my opinion” is a bit redundant seeing as that is literally what you’ve been doing, but hey, I’m not one to pick…

  63. Napoleon Says:

    WOW! (Hopefully Piqued won’t read this now.)

    “The point I was making, which was obviously lost on many people amongst all the obscenities, as backed up by many a scholar throughout history is that in many ways the people I met contribute to their own downfall.”

    Obviously Richard’s never heard of the dominance of the US and Western Europe over the WTO, the World Bank and the IMF? The stranglehold we’ve imposed on Third World nations with our slantendicular ‘Free Trade’ agreements have clearly passed him by. Instead, he likes to think people who have been forced into poverty by the unfair behaviour of the West, have somehow contributed to their own misery. I’d love to know his solution as to how they pull ’emselves out of their self-imposed situation? Pixie dust and fairy magic, perhaps?

    Has he thought about anything before he wrote that pile of waffle the imbecilic Georgina kindly posted up there for us to wade through? Or, as was the case when he decided to insult the entire nation of India, was he just saying the first thing that came into his head? Stupid boy.

  64. Swineshead Says:

    Sorry BM – I forgot. But keep picking, he needs to be picked at!

  65. Swineshead Says:

    NC – He’s worse than stupid. His is the kind of stupidity that spreads like an aggressive rash.

  66. Badger Madge Says:

    Oh no. It’s too easy.

    Oh, OK then.

    It’s a cheap shot, but I do find it difficult to hold an intellectual debate with someone who doesn’t know the difference between they’re, their and there, and too and to…

    *rolls eyes* I prefer to sit back and enjoy the mauling.

  67. Swineshead Says:

    HEY BM TAHT IS JUST YOURE OPINIONS OWKAY>??S

  68. Badger Madge Says:

    LOLZ!!11!!!! FUK U U WANKER U NOT HAVE NUFF INFO 4 DIZ RUK YAH?!!1!!!!

  69. piqued Says:

    I always read you NC, you give me a fucking bonk on.

  70. Napoleon Says:

    WOW!

  71. Clarry Says:

    I have some points:

    “wow how scary no privately educated journalists or internet scholars to plagiarise thoughts and opinions from to pass off as your own.”

    All my thoughts and opinions are my own (the same goes for the other regular WWM-ers) and if I was going to plagiarise someone’s thoughts it wouldn’t be from an ‘internet scholar’.

    “You see the sad thing about people like you is that one day you’re going to start doing some thinking of your own, (…..) you’ll suddenly come to stark realisations such as David Copperfield can’t actually make the Statue of Liberty disappear, Wars are fought over power and money not to preserve the safety of the innocent, reviewers are failed journalists that serve to provide entertainment for the masses that are so bitterly unhappy with their lives that ridicule and rigour to those generationally different from themselves is their only escape, political correctness causes more abomination than it prevents, and shock horror ‘real life’ documentary’s are made by commercially driven privately owned production companies.”

    Blimey, except for the aside in brackets (omitted for sake of clarity), the first 18 lines of this ramble is ONE sentence. Thank God Richard pointed out some of those things though… I for one was wrongfully under the impression that the Statue of Liberty was still missing and that war was declared to bring about peace. TWAT!

    “Image the horror when your friends find out that your once thought of as bright self actual spends the weeks reading Hello magazine, listening to censored, biased and laughably independent news channels, oh and not to forget ‘real life documentary’s’ tackling the true issues of the world by an independent broadcaster that of course only cares about the greater good of mankind.”

    I’m sure Napoleon will have something to say about being accused of reading Hello magazine.

    “Your dinner parties will never be the same again!”

    Oh no!

    Richard (and Georgina), reading your thoughts about the realities of life is about as hilarious as hearing Donny Tourette tell Phil Jupitus and Bill Bailey the definition of punk rock, that he WAS punk rock and that The Towers of London dicked all over the Sex Pistols. To “ridicule and rigour to those generationally different from themselves” may not be nice, but is wholly necessary as young adults invariably think that they know it all, when they clearly don’t.

  72. Napoleon Says:

    I’m more of an OK! man, Clarry.

  73. Swineshead Says:

    I read Bella religiously.

    Spot on Clarry. They may be young adults, but they’re still adults, so fuck it, if they’re idiots there’s no harm in deconstructing their bilge.

  74. Swineshead Says:

    Wow! Piqued is a moron.

    I only just realised I can get away with that.

  75. Clarry Says:

    Yes. Yes, I thought so….

  76. piqued Says:

    What that I’m a moron Clarry?

    U FUKING WANT SUM DOO U

    DO U

    u

  77. Mikey Says:

    “Hola” para mi

  78. Clarry Says:

    Relax, Piqued, I was saying ‘Yes. Yes, I thought so….’ about Napoleon being an avid reader of OK! Ok?

  79. Clarry Says:

    P.S SH, can you change my pattern? I don’t like the colour…

  80. piqued Says:

    *calms down*

    awight gell, you’re fine wiv uncle Piqued… Now ‘ows abaat you and me get us a little drink yeah

    Go on, mines a large brandy

    *slaps arse*

    Chop chop

    hee hee hee hee hee

    *has massive heart attack*

  81. Clarry Says:

    Piqued – Who are you LEE MCQUEEN? Last night he appeared to go into cock-er-ney overdrive last night. And he seems to have developed a lisp.

  82. Clarry Says:

    Last night.

  83. Napoleon Says:

    Was that last night, Clarry?

  84. Badger Madge Says:

    yes i don’t like mine either. it used to be my badger logo. what’s going on?

  85. Badger Madge Says:

    yes i don’t like mine either. it used to be my badger logo. what’s going on?

  86. Badger Madge Says:

    OK, I didn’t stick that up twice. sommit weird is happening! Richard/Georgina what have you done?!

  87. Clarry Says:

    Yes, that was definitely last night Napoleon.

    Do you think SH has gone home and fallen into a big fat sleep instead of posting the Apprentice blog?

  88. John Q Wagonwheel Says:

    I’m busy enjoying the sun and that, but I thought I’d pop in to agree with the people who weren’t twats

    *agrees with people who weren’t twats*

    and leave again

    *leaves*.

  89. piqued Says:

    Yes, SH went home at lunch

    He’s just taken a bath and is currently covered in Castrol GTX widening himself for a slice of Piqued(en) Cock Pie

  90. Badger Madge Says:

    Tsk… Can’t believe I’ve been waiting for that blog all feckin day. What an anti-climax…

  91. Napoleon Says:

    Where’s the bloody Apprentice review, eh? Badger’s right when she says you’re a lazy, good-for-nothing, workshy, big-nosed bastard, Swineshead.

  92. extremelisteningmode Says:

    The word ‘journey’ should now be banned from any non-travel TV show.

  93. Swineshead Says:

    I’m doing it today. I was diagnosed with a hangover yesterday by Dr. Feelgood.

  94. Badger Madge Says:

    I never said big-nosed!

  95. Swineshead Says:

    It is pretty big though – unlike Napoleon’s cute little babyish flesh button, which hangs over his evil grin like he’s Dennis the Menace.

  96. Clarry Says:

    Come on SH, where’s this blog? Some of us haven’t got better things to do!

  97. Napoleon Says:

    My nose is huge. HUGE. However, unlike Swineshead’s genetically defective conk, mine is as a result of violent roustabouts in my youth. Frankly, Swineshead hasn’t done a damn thing to deserve that gigantic nose of his.

    Where’s the Apprentice review? Eh?

  98. Swineshead Says:

    Bear with me – I’ve got real actual work to do…
    In the meantime, you may continue to have a pop at richard while I do proper grown up stuff.

  99. Swineshead Says:

    My nose has been broken before – by a bouncer no less. And a steering wheel on another occasion. I am an idiot.

  100. Napoleon Says:

    I can’t be bothered with that laggard. I want to talk about The Apprentice – like wot everyone else does on ‘ere. You don’t get such slapdashery out of Collins or Groves, do you? Lazy swine.

  101. Napoleon Says:

    I take it back about the nose, then. Mind you, I’ll wager you ain’t broken your nose on a woman’s arse. I have.

  102. Swineshead Says:

    It’s a difficult one as I watched it after 10 pints of premium lager. So it’ll be the vaguest report ever.

  103. Napoleon Says:

    Hence the hangover of yesterday. Not on for a workday.

  104. Badger Madge Says:

    I hate my nose. Proper jewish conk. Plus my chin is like Bruce Forsyth and my smile is like Cherie Blairs. Oh yeah. I’m hot.

  105. Napoleon Says:

    Is that the usual female exaggeration, Badger?

  106. Badger Madge Says:

    well maybe. but in certain photos, my chin is rather bulbous, depending on whether i’m doing my cherie smile or not and whether it can stand out from under my huge nose.

  107. Clarry Says:

    SH, I thought you were going to rewatch the Apprentice yesterday in order to get a better idea of what went on…. Hurry up with the blog though, i’m starting to forget what happened!

    Re: BS&T blog – Georgina never did come back to answer her critics, did she?

    Badger – Your chin can’t be as bad as Jenny ‘the chin’ Celerier’s. Now THAT is an awful chin! My dad resembles a cross between Punch of Punch and Judy fame and the Man in the Moon – his nose and chin almost meet.

  108. Swineshead Says:

    It’s finally fucking up. Apologies for a scattergun approach in this one.

  109. Daintee Says:

    I am just glad to find this blog SWINES your article is on point…..brash but still I agree with u ….it is not fashion that is the evil force here… it is the culture of our world we live in. To point out though this is not a new occurence of people being overworked and undepid to feed a capitalist worlde this is going on for centuries from the slave trade to now or even before then. The attitude of Richard really pisses me off and the stupid questions they ask the people I for one think its insulting ….and they complain of shit every where when they cant even clean their own shit!!!

  110. Swineshead Says:

    Thanks for that Daintee… you’re right about my early point on fashion – I actually got rightfully knackered by my missus for it. I was being flippant.

  111. Mikey Says:

    I did not see the show. What I gather though is that Richard believes that going to nightschool would give the factory worker a chance. Hmmm. I do not know what the nightschool infrastructure in India is like, however judging by the Indian chaps hours it would have to be midnight school.

    Richards’ view seems to be very ethnocentric. Whilst that avenue remains an option in this society (and hats off to anybody who studies whilst working), our industrial and post industrial society has evolved through various phases of evolution characterised by the constant battle of improving workers rights and broadening of the educational system. It has taken 2 centuries to be where we are. Compared to some other European countries we are still a long way off. Here at least we do not have to contend with the caste system which makes the class system seem like a tea party.

  112. Swineshead Says:

    Mikey – I think it’s available on the iPlayer. You will be staggered by the stupidity on display.

  113. Daintee Says:

    u need to see the show they are a bunch of spoilt brats and i really think bbc could hav gotten a mix of kids from different classes and not a set who had or have it easy

  114. Joanne Says:

    Oh Christ, what a shitstorm. I haven’t even seen the show but that Richard fellow sounds like a proper fuckpuppet.

    Okay, I’ll go back to lurking now.

  115. adi Says:

    i like the fact you are all sat here slagging off the fact richard expressed his opinion and yet here you are……doing the same thing! is comical!

  116. Swineshead Says:

    Some of the comments we’re getting recently aren’t even worth responding to. But still I attempt to communicate with the fuckwits…

    Expressing opinions is great. Especially if an opinion is sound, rather than the incorrect, ill-informed opinion belonging to a rat-faced twat like Richard.

    Thanks.

  117. adi Says:

    im sure there are many people out there who think your opinions are in-correct!
    and i am hoping you are not calling me a fuckwit…you might be following richards path of verbal abuse which you seemed to have a problem with!
    wuldnt that be ironic!

  118. Swineshead Says:

    Yes! Yes there are people who disagree with me! Loads of them! Amazing isn’t it!?!?!?!?!

    IT WUD BE IRON IC YES YES IT WUD

  119. piqued Says:

    Can I call you a fuckwit Adi? Purely on the basis that you write like one…

  120. adi Says:

    i never said i could write properly…sooo unless i can call you one then no

  121. bummer Says:

    your website is SHIT get a new website ya fuckin ars hole

  122. Swineshead Says:

    Thanks ‘bummer’!

    Where’s your website?

  123. bumface Says:

    i swear the writer said my heart…

    amrita is such a fucked up ignorant bastard.. does she not realise that her father and granfather did more shittier jobs in the past??

    does she not realise that it is because of the great british benefits system and free education, medical care etc etc that she has the previlige that she is where she is today?

    does she not realise that at the end of the day she is still of indian blood and not british blood before she criticises the rest of the indian people in the film??

    what great ignorance!!! im amazed !! amrita your dad and mum will be proud of you !!! DISGRACE!!!

Leave a Reply

