The Friday Question – Dogs and Cats?

by

A battle raged this week on the hallowed pages of WWM between the warring tribes of cat lovers, dog lovers and those of us who can see that they’re two completely different animals, both of which are lovable in their own right.

It got me to thinking, however, about famous screen animals, specifically of the domestic kind – and particularly canine and feline. Schnorbitz, Roland the poodle of Eastenders fame, Top Cat, that talking cat from Sabrina the Teenage Witch – the list is endless (in a quite limited sort of way)…

So what’s the best ever screen dog or cat?

Answers either on a postcode or, more practically, in the comments.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

87 Responses to “The Friday Question – Dogs and Cats?”

  1. Swineshead Says:

    It’s clearly Schnorbitz.

  2. Joanne Says:

    Salem from Sabrina the Teenage Witch. End of Contest.

  3. Swineshead Says:

    Right, well due to Joanne’s declaration and general lack of interest, i suppose that brings this contest to a close.

  4. charliemingles Says:

    Waay too much choice there.

    Being scottish and therefore an emotionally-stunted alcoholic, I find it virtually impossible to display any affection to other human beings. and women.

    So I tend instead to become very sentimental and shower my love on animals. not that way. So, I love all the fluffy beasts. Dogs are clearly best. but my neighbours cat sleeps on the end of the bed, so I should include his species also or he’ll get upset. I know they watch us and report back their overlord.

    Where to start. will have to get back to you on that one. It’s like a big furry chocolate box of soft centres.

  5. charliemingles Says:

    I’ll put a vote in for Eddie from the superb flawless ‘Frasier’

  6. Swineshead Says:

    Frasier – flawless?

    It’s the most boring sitcom in history. They left out the laughs.

  7. Mikey Says:

    As I like cats and dogs……..

    Top cat obviously but do not forget the rest of the gang, Benny, Choo Choo, Brain, Fancy Fancy & Spook.
    As for dogs well, Muttley was a laughable rascal.

  8. Mikey Says:

    Frasier…very very good. Eddie gets my vote. Good work Charlie.
    Swines…have you got a sense of humour? Frasier’s great.

  9. Swineshead Says:

    Benny – was he the blue one? He was the best of that bunch.

  10. Swineshead Says:

    Frasier’s bloody awful. As are:

    Will & Grace
    Friends

  11. Napoleon Says:

    The Littlest Hobo not only helped out bald kids with cancer (the second most pitiable kids after bloated Ethiopian kids from the 80s), but also had the best theme song. Ho! There’s a voice, keeps on callin’ me. Down the road, that’s where I’ll always be, etc. etc.

  12. Swineshead Says:

    Oh Christ – I think that theme tune belongs at the top of this motherfucking thread

    *youtube search*

  13. Napoleon Says:

    Glad to be of service.

  14. Napoleon Says:

    That’s Hobo style.

  15. Napoleon Says:

    I see my picture of everyone’s favourite racist has disappeared.

  16. Swineshead Says:

    Still there from where I’m sitting…

    The Littlest Hobo is quite easy to play on guitar – shall we do a rendition when you pop down London way?

  17. Napoleon Says:

    As long as I get to flex my magnificent singing voice.

  18. Swineshead Says:

    I remember that voice well from a certain rock n roll band – FBM

  19. Napoleon Says:

    Imagine what 17 years of smoking has done to that voice, Swineshead.

  20. indy Says:

    brian from family guy
    halle berry in catwoman
    lassie in (st) (“hey wait, i think lassie is trying to tells something! where did they go, lassie” etc)
    elizabeth (cat) in nathan barley
    k9 in doctor who

  21. charliemingles Says:

    Will & grace etc – shit

    Frasier, some of the best comedy writing there ever was. okay, it turned into a soap eventually. but the first 4 seasons are flawless.

    But, I guess if we all agreed with each other wed have nothing to talk about and would have to actually do some work. god forbid.

    mutley, also gets my vote. as does TC and the dog from tom and jerry.

  22. Napoleon Says:

    Frasier’s shit.

    I’d forgotten about Brian – he’s a good ‘un. I’d also nominate Grant Mitchell’s mysterious Rottweiller and Ghenghis the Irish Wolfhound.

  23. charliemingles Says:

    Dogs I Love: the cool scruffy mongrel in Lady and the tramp.

    Dogs I hate and would happily execute with a shotgun: Scrappy doo, to name but one.

  24. charliemingles Says:

    gnasher, got to love gnasher. weird scribbly little fucker

  25. Mikey Says:

    One more…but only the Star Trek – original series – sci-fi nerds like myself will know. Isis is a black cat that is the assistant of Gary Seven in the episode “Assignment Earth”. I do not know if a single episode appearance counts in the “Friday Question” rules, however Isis would be a great to have as a companion.

  26. charliemingles Says:

    felix the cat, cat in the hat

    (not johnmerrickqie – hes the twat in the hat)

  27. Mikey Says:

    Isis would be a great companion OR Isis would be great as a companion Or Isis would be great to have as a comapnion. Friday!!!

    Frasier’s great.

  28. charliemingles Says:

    I hope youre as we speak setting up a whole new site SH.

    this has dotcom billionaire written all over it. anything on youtube that has cats and dogs. 10,0000000000000000000000 hits

  29. Mikey Says:

    argghhhh… companion.
    Mr Scott, beam me aboard please. Too many grammatical errors today, a drunken Klingon could do better!

  30. charliemingles Says:

    I’ll take a mere 20% equity as a start-up consultancy fee. I thnk thats fair.

  31. charliemingles Says:

    fuck the spelling mikey ol boy. love the monocle.

    And might I say how nice it is for once to have an intelligent cultured man on the show for a change, who apreciates the fine subtle (and far too grown up and clever for these twats) genius of frasier.

  32. Swineshead Says:

    A pompous script does not a clever show make.

    Frasier’s shit.

  33. Dave Says:

    I’m reminded of one of the many Red Dwarf episodes in which they meet their dopplegangers. The one in which the other crew member gets a hot, female equivilents (which I don’t have to tell you is just plain wrong) and Cat gets a Southern American Hick of a Dog. Great stuff, but not as funny as when his dream partner ends up being himself in another episode. Truth.

  34. Jamie Says:

    Watching Frasier of a morning does make me feel cultured I must say. It’s never ever laugh out loud but is nice and relaxing background viewing.

    What was the name of Dean Gaffney’s alsatian in ‘Enders? He was good.

  35. Swineshead Says:

    Red Dwarf’s shit.

    Jamie – his name is Well’ard. He was Gus’s until Gus upped and left and now I think he’s either the Jackson’s or Mickey’s…

  36. Jamie Says:

    Well’ard may be my vote for best celebrity animal.

    Guessing CatDog is eliminated?

    Actually I’m tempted by Ren and/or Stimpy now.

    Agreed on Red Dwarf.

  37. Napoleon Says:

    I fucking hated Red Dwarf. Thanks, Dave, for bringing up that shit.

    Well’ard’s Bianca’s dog at the moment. That dog’s been passed from pillar to post.

  38. Dave Says:

    Oh, yes, because well all know hoe super-duper Eastenders is. Yes?

  39. Jamie Says:

    That’s a flammable comment to make on this here site if I ever saw one.

    I am very anti-soap anyway generally so I’m not getting involved.

    I meant CatDog is disqualified.

  40. charliemingles Says:

    yes, have to agree on red dwarf also. that twat lister used to do my fuckin head in. thank god he was found to be an (alleged) rapist and punished with his own show on 6 Music.

    Is it sick of me to wonder if the woman he is accused of assaulting was under 5 foot and a native american? Oh the irony.

  41. Napoleon Says:

    Dave – I think we’ve made it perfectly plain on here that EastEnders is a big pile of shit.

  42. Dave Says:

    K-9 from Dr Who is a good dog, Preston from Wallis and Gromit (Gromit is rubbish, yes?) oh, and Muffit from Battlestar.

  43. Quincy PhD Says:

    Day off today so I shall not be indulging in discussions, however before I abstain I just want to note that putting Frasier, Friends and Will and Grace in the same sentence is tantamount to heresy.

    Friends and Will and Grace are horrible pieces of pointless banal fluff with little or no redeeming virtues, Frasier on the other hand is a great example of what a sitcom could be if they actually bothered to try.

    Any show which has an episode of sexual farce set in a heatwave and calls it The Night of the Iwanna is fine by me. Eddie gets my vote too.

    I’m now off out to enjoy my day and have lots of sex. Peace.

  44. Jamie Says:

    So basically, thank God someone ACCUSED him of rape? I have a feeling that, to you, whether he actually raped someone or not doesn’t really seem to matter.

  45. charliemingles Says:

    the face of jesus has appeared in the fur of this baltimore cat:

    http://www.abc2news.com/news/local/story.aspx?content_id=2ccb3aef-1561-43eb-9dbc-afb4268409f8

    surely, this feline messiah wins hands down, him being a sort of virgin mary type messiah-transport mechanism for the new coming of our lord

  46. charliemingles Says:

    Jamie, you forget this is a comedy blog and irony when reading is mandatory. you twat.

  47. Jamie Says:

    I’m very tired. Had a gig last night.

    My tongue was also touching my cheek during my comment. So I pass the twat label back upon’t you.

  48. Napoleon Says:

    Quincy – Nah, Frasier was shit.

  49. charliemingles Says:

    RESET DEFAULT PARAMETERS ….

    twat status re-establshed

  50. Swineshead Says:

    a.) Frasier is shit
    b.) Craig Charles Funk show gets me going when I’m peeling spuds in the kitchen, and he smokes crack whilst wanking on dirty mattresses like me, so I like him
    c.) Frasier is shit
    d.) If anyone actually wanted to know about Quincy having ‘loads of sex’ I’d imagine they’d be mentally ill
    e.) Red Dwarf is shit
    f.) Frasier is pompous
    g.) Frasier is utter shit

  51. Napoleon Says:

    h.) I’ve got hot nuts.

  52. Swineshead Says:

    i.) I’ve got wind

  53. Napoleon Says:

    You don’t know what wind is, son.

  54. Jamie Says:

    I would never suggest Frasier is genius, but I believe it is somewhere between the pits of Friends/Will & Grace/Dharma& Greg and more respected mainstream sitcoms such as Frasier or Curb Your Enthusiasm.

    I’d never make a good modern journalist as I refuse polarise absolutely everything into God-like Genius or Irrefutably Shite.

  55. indy Says:

    kat slater (eastenders)

  56. Swineshead Says:

    Indy – disqualified. You wilfully misunderstood the question – you may be swedish but you ain’t stupid.

  57. Dave Says:

    How people can’t see that the formula of Friends is the same if not as robust as Friends ONLY because it deals with intellectuals other than a bunch of sex-obsessed beautiful New Yorkers, I just can’t fathom.

    I could make a five second animation of Einstein shoving a chicken up his unmentionable. Einstein was clever, the comedy wouldn’t be. At least it’s get a laugh though, unlike that shit Fraiser.

  58. Jamie Says:

    Friends and Friends are indeed ridiculously similar. Case for a lawsuit?

  59. Dave Says:

    Sorry. Swap both Friends with Frasier.

  60. Napoleon Says:

    Both?

    Arsehole.

  61. indy Says:

    “I would never suggest Frasier is genius, but I believe it is somewhere between the pits of Frasier/Frasier/Frasier and more respected mainstream sitcoms such as Frasier or Frasier.”

  62. Jamie Says:

    Both?

    Mental.

  63. Jamie Says:

    1st August 2008 – Official Frasier Day on WWM.

  64. charliemingles Says:

    get FR Leavis there

  65. Swineshead Says:

    Dave – where does Frasier (which is shit, as we’ve concluded) fit into this mind-bogglingly interesting theory?

  66. indy Says:

    jamie! please! i am swedish but i’m not stupid but you are fucking with my brain when you…
    August 1, 2008 at 11:36 am
    August 1, 2008 at 11:43 am
    …repeat the name of the same show in a very confusing way.

  67. Dave Says:

    *sits in corner and weeps to the sounds of The Rembrandts*

  68. Jamie Says:

    Swineshead is determined to confirm that Frasier is shit despite there being roughly a 50-50 split on the aforementioned show.

    indy – I am confused what it is you wish from me. Take my wallet.

  69. charliemingles Says:

    Napoleon, you are quite a domineering sort of fellow aren’t you. Sends me all a quiver.

    I’m off to watch the dark Knight, I hear it’s excellent and I look forward to a mesmerising afternoon in the thee-ae-tur.

    good day gentlemen ….

  70. Jamie Says:

    Don’t get everyone started on The Dark Knight.

  71. Napoleon Says:

    Jamie – Swineshead’s right, and so am I. Add Piqued’s vote that Frasier is shit (which he’d give if someone wasn’t having at his jaw with a chisel), and you’ve got a 90-10 split in our favour. I don’t make the rules.

  72. Dave Says:

    Let’s all unite over the beautifull all-American achievement we call ‘Cheers’, ‘where verybody know your name, because they’re fat, washed-up wife-beasting postmen’.

    A little to like Cheers for my liking but, still, I do like Cheers any-a-how.

  73. Jamie Says:

    Maths is interesting.

  74. Napoleon Says:

    Cheers was shit.

  75. indy Says:

    i’ve always hated “friends”. partly because the disturbing scene in the intro where “joey” is wearing a white turtle neck. probably while taking a bath in a fountain or something likewise “hilarious” in a “let’s go crazy!!!” kind of way.

    nah. give me the larry david scripted seinfeld episodes instead. his last script (susan’s funeral) is ace!.

  76. Swineshead Says:

    Cheers was shit, wasn’t it?
    Utter shit – like Frasier.

    Piqued’s at the seaside, I believe, but even from here I can hear him fuming about how shit all these shows are.

    I’m not around next week, by the way. I’ll try to post shit but I can’t promise nothing

  77. Swineshead Says:

    Indy – do you fancy an unpaid, thankless job reviewing swedish TV equivalents?

  78. indy Says:

    sh – if there is a demand for swedish tv equivalent reviews i would not mind at all (simple market economy rules, you know, supply and demand).

  79. Swineshead Says:

    Could try it out. It might be good. I can clean up your appalling English.

  80. indy Says:

    you’re welcome to clean up my flat aswell. anytime! i’ll write something (or simply translate someone else’s irrational rants on tv!!!) and send it over.

  81. Swineshead Says:

    Sweeeeet.

    Right – I’m off to get fed for free. BYE

  82. Lemon Kitten Says:

    Can I play ? Skippy the bush kangaroo.

  83. Dave Says:

    When I grow up I want to be a doggy woggy.

  84. Mikey Says:

    Cheers — Excellent!
    “Beer coming up Mr. Peterson”.
    “No Woody..Beer going down Mr. Peterson”.

    Frasier very good. (Again).

    Skippy, Skippy, Skippy the bush Kangaroo etc. …but Lemon Kitten unfortunately Skippy’s a marsupial and technically not domesticated. So I think he will be disqualified. However I support your motion for Skippy.

  85. John Q Wagonwheel Says:

    The Littlest Hobo! Great stuff.

  86. Nick of the T Says:

    Snoopy and Hong Kong Fooey AND his cat.

    I thank you…..

    *bows*

  87. Clarry Says:

    I caught an episode of the Littlest Hobo the other month and it had a very young looking Mike Myers in it!

Leave a Reply

