NewsGush – Mum’s Gone To Boots

by

Good news for idiots – specifically those who like to discuss the ins, outs and shake-it-all-abouts of untalented minor celebrities. Click here for the ‘big’ story.

Kerry Katona appeared on This Morning with Phil & Fern and slurred her way through the interview. She didn’t look pissed and the explanation that she happens to be on anti-psychotic drugs covered her phonetic sludge, yet this has somehow made the national news. Must’ve been a slow day.

In WWM’s defence, I’ve stuck this clip up knowing full well that Katona’s name alone will guarantee a good few handfuls of extra hits. It’s a mercenary world.

Though I was a fan of Katona’s early work with Atomic Kitten, I felt (and continue to feel) that she’s really come into her own with her appearances on the Iceland ads. I don’t follow the populist view that the Nolan sister who features in the more recent clips has diluted the franchise – I actually feel very strongly that Katona has become stronger as a thespian working alongside another untalented old boot.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

50 Responses to “NewsGush – Mum’s Gone To Boots”

  1. ugeine Says:

    I look unfeasibly good for somebody with three small children. Look at my make up and stylish clothes. This is because I feed my kids processed frozen slop and spend the time I would have spent cooking a normal meal on my vanity. That’s why mums go to Iceland!

  2. ugeine Says:

    That and it’s right next to the chemist. I go running for the shelter of my mothers little helper…

  3. indy Says:

    (“da real”) iceland on the brink off economic collapse.
    face of iceland mental collapse on live tv.

    isn’t there some kind of studio person to make sure that the interviewees are in a stable mental condition?

  4. Nick T Says:

    Medication for what?

  5. indy Says:

    lucky her that she sat in a sofa – i remember her back in her atomic kitten days when it was all about that bar stool (singing verse while sitting – then taking a few steps forward during the refrain).

  6. Nick T Says:

    “there’s no such thing as bad publicity”

  7. Swineshead Says:

    anti-psychotic drugs

    Nick T doesn’t read post shocker!

  8. Swineshead Says:

    What’s your favourite Atomic Kitten song?
    I think mine has to be Magical Mystery Tour.

  9. indy Says:

    time for a sofa top 5: add katona to list together with mr t cruise. any suggestions?

  10. Nick T Says:

    Aaaaactualy I did but anti-psychotic does cover pretty much everything.

    I’m just watching Silverman on last weeks Jonathon Ross and notice that she is wearing Ferns red tights.

    I’d rather spend more time in Iceland than I would in Katona.
    See there’s the kernaL of a joke there.
    Fill in the gaps.

    Ahh lists we’re really going for it today.

  11. ugeine Says:

    I remember some old actor, pissed as a fart, asking the band to play along while he sings? (NB: It’s fairly common in those ‘110098 most amazingist things that has ever happened in the studio)

  12. Swineshead Says:

    Heather Mills on the sofa was a good ‘un. When she went all psycho and sexy.

  13. Swineshead Says:

    Ugeine – that’s Oliver fucking Reed!

    Some old actor, indeed. The finest actor of his generation more like!

    BULLSEYE!

  14. wally bazoom Says:

    My favourite is I’d Rather Jack (To Fleetwood Mac).

  15. Swineshead Says:

    Wally, you know full well that was a cover version – originally cut by Fleetwood Mick Morrison’s Return of the Daddy Mack’ll Make you JUMP JUMP.

  16. Who Says:

    It’s I’d Rather Jack (THAN Fleetwood Mac), not TO. The sentiment is totally different.

    Bloody kids.

  17. Swineshead Says:

    Who – we’re aware of that. How old are you? I bet I’m not much younger.

  18. wally bazoom Says:

    When will Steve Lamacq return the mac, hey? Macerena.

  19. Swineshead Says:

    Lamacq is Gonna Change My Love For You By Glen ‘Battenberg’ Madeira.

  20. ugeine Says:

    Ooh, my favourite sofa clip off of Parky: Paula Radcliffe is sitting next to Tom Cruise after winning some race thing. She’s noticeably awkward in front of Tom Cruise. This is probably because she saw the infamous scientology clip on youtube, but Parkinson thinks it’s because she’s too embarrassed to talk to an A-List celebrity. ‘Look at this!’ He quips. ‘He’s just an actor, you’re the real hero, and you’re too scared to talk to him!’ Yes, Parkinson, she ran in a straight line for two hours. She’s a national fucking hero. Forget all the doctors, nurses, poliemen, teachers, social workers and the like, the girl who ran in a straight line is a national fucking hero.

  21. wally bazoom Says:

    I’m old enough to remember what jacking actually is. Even by 1989 The Reynolds Girls where referencing something at least three years out of date.

    On that note: Keith Sweat.

  22. ugeine Says:

    SH: I wanted to say Oliver Reed but I wasn’t 100% and I thought I’d get a million people saying ‘That’s not Oliver Reed! That’s Barry Chuckle! You ignorant nob.’ Shows I just can’t win.

  23. Who Says:

    You might know it, but Ugeine didn’t, which was why I jumped down his throat to correct him. I hate it when lyrics of SAW classics are twisted beyond recognition.

    Guess how old I am, go on, have a guess.

  24. Swineshead Says:

    You can never win, not in this life.

    Who – I am old enough to remember too. It was all over the telly. Though I was too young to go to a discotheque and ‘jack’.

    Paula Radcliffe was sitting uncomfortably because she’d shit herself (AGAIN).

  25. Swineshead Says:

    Are you in your 30s?

  26. Who Says:

    YEH

  27. Swineshead Says:

    I will also have hit that benchmark next week. Good bye youth. AND GOOD RIDDANCE.

  28. Who Says:

    Oh, I can’t remember that benchmark. I’m hurtling towards the next one

  29. Swineshead Says:

    I can’t remember my 21st benchmark. Or my 18th. Or my 16th, come to think of it.

    Isn’t your 30th the point where you start remembering what you get up to?

  30. wally bazoom Says:

    Remember, you’re only as young as long you keep feeling women.

  31. ugeine Says:

    I remember my 21st as if it were yesterday.

  32. Swineshead Says:

    You’re young – as long as your woman’s lung only keeps feeling long.

  33. ugeine Says:

    I’m not sure if it’s because I’m bunged up with cold, but I don’t understand about 95% of todays conversation. Any decent way to get rid of a cold?

  34. wally bazoom Says:

    I remember being twenty one – It was a very good year. It was a very good year for city girls who lived up the stair, with all that perfumed hair.
    And it came undone. When I was twenty-one.

  35. ugeine Says:

    *claps*

    I love that song.

  36. Swineshead Says:

    I don’t know that song. What is that song?
    I listened to Acid Mothers Temple on the way to work and it seems to have wiped half my memory of songs. I’m not listening to Acid Mothers Temple again.

  37. Badger Madge Says:

    Not sure if anyone’s mentioned it but:

    “time for a sofa top 5: add katona to list together with mr t cruise. any suggestions?”

    Macca on GMTV

  38. Swineshead Says:

    Missed that, BM – what did Macca do?

  39. Badger Madge Says:

    Ah poo. Sorry SH

  40. Badger Madge Says:

    heather Mills. You mentioned it up there. Should read all posts before commenting.

  41. wally bazoom Says:

    Say brother, I listened to Hawkwind, it changed my whole way of thinking. I’m hooking up with some cats, they say they know the way to space.

  42. Swineshead Says:

    Ah… you are forgiven, wee badger.

    Hawkwind? Is that Piqued in disguise?

  43. daveselectricblanket Says:

    ‘I’m just watching Silverman on last weeks Jonathon Ross and notice that she is wearing Ferns red tights.’

    The phones have been ringing, Nick T, and we only ask because we care. Are you alright?

    And I loved lovely Phil’s ‘we wouldn’t imply anything at all’ line, considering that was the breadth of his whole interview technique.

  44. indy Says:

    this “medication problem”, is it possible that this is in fact a call from the karma police for violating “the tide is high” (bad original – even worse “updated” cover). yup. the “preggo” video.

  45. Nick T Says:

    My podcast is ace. I sound like a fucking pro!

  46. Swineshead Says:

    When self-promotion turns ugly…
    Go easy Nick…

  47. Nick T Says:

    I’m not on anti pyschotic drugs, that’s what it is.

    *sobs on Ferns red legs*

  48. piqued Says:

    Someone mention Hawkwind?

    Check this out, it’s truly wrong

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ciBNHcstCLk&feature=related

  49. extremelisteningmode Says:

    Kerry Katona, a woman who, when looking back on her life, will find that Atomic Kitten was the high spot. Fuck, even Liz McLarnon has Masterchef.

    Truly wretched.

  50. Josh Says:

    The woman simply needs to blow her nose, that’s all. She’s clearly just got a bit of a cold.

Leave a Reply

