NewsGush – R.I.P. Reg Varney

by

reg varney

I hated you, Butler.

Poor old Reg has sadly passed on to the great double decker in the sky. The world has lost a fantastic comedic talent and the first man to use a cash machine in the British Isles, according to someone on here.

*salutes*

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

34 Responses to “NewsGush – R.I.P. Reg Varney”

  1. Nick T Says:

    Tis trues I tells ya. Was on Radio 4 news this morning and they never lie!

  2. Nick T Says:

    He used to smoke those tiny little fags on the telly

  3. ugeine Says:

    He had a good innings.

  4. Nick T Says:

    He was 50 when he started OTB. God knows how old the white haired horse faced one was…
    “Blakey” Stephen Lewis started writing it after a while.

    For more 70’s sit-com trivia………….

  5. Swineshead Says:

    Quiet in here today.
    I should write a proper article, really. I’m trying to do one on Rich Girl / Poor Girl from last week.

  6. Nick T Says:

    We could talk about the great video on my blog….

    Or

  7. Napoleon Says:

    Poor old Reg. Did you know, he was the first person in Britain to use … what was that?

    THAT’S MY FACT!

  8. ugeine Says:

    I have attained the great pleasure of having worked with a chef who tells me he was the first person in the UK to serve that God awful chicken burger thing they do in KFC. I truly feel blessed.

  9. Swineshead Says:

    The fillet burger? That actually tastes amazing accompanied by an enormous hangover. Sober, it tastes like a rubber bum-scrape.

  10. Who Says:

    I’d have loved to have been a 70’s dolly bird. Imagine having to choose between Butler and his gorgeous conductor Jack – impossible.

  11. Swineshead Says:

    You’d end up settling for Blakey, Who. You know it’s true.

  12. ugeine Says:

    Is that one Smiler?

    ‘I hate you, Shiva!’

  13. Napoleon Says:

    Is Jack still alive? I always liked his dirty laugh and easy manner with the birds.

  14. Swineshead Says:

    Dead I’m afraid. Dead, dead, dead.

    Which Dad’s Army characters are still alive? That was my old ma’s favourite game of a Saturday afternoon.

    Dead, dead, alive, dead.

    Ian Lavender and Clive Dunne are still going I think.

    My mother always delighted in telling me that Steptoe Jnr died before Steptoe Snr.

  15. Napoleon Says:

    I think Warden Hodges and the Vicar are still alive too. My gran – weirdly echoing your mum – never tired of telling me that Walker popped his clogs before anyone else. Maybe this is a trait of the older woman?

  16. Who Says:

    SH, I might still end up having a crack at Blakey. He’s alive – just, so that’s good enough for me.

  17. Swineshead Says:

    They like it when young, seemingly vibrant men die as it reminds them they live until they’re as old as the moon. Typical women, always dawdling.

  18. Napoleon Says:

    Olive off of On The Buses is still going. She crops up from time to time as ‘Aunt Sal’ in EastEnders.

  19. Swineshead Says:

    She’s a woman, Nappers. Women are essentially immortal.

  20. Napoleon Says:

    They do go on a bit, don’t they? At least men have the decency to leave the stage before they outstay their welcome. More women should take up the manly sport of chain-smoking, I reckon. Whittle down the numbers so we don’t have quite so many pensions to fork out for.

  21. piqued Says:

    That was the best thing about On The Buses, Olive’s husband perpetually reading a tabloid and making snide remarks.

    Happy sexist days

  22. ugeine Says:

    We had to watch an episode in TV studies where they introduce women into the work place. They all seemed a bit annoyed at the prospect.

    I can feel for them as well. I was literally angry with rage.

  23. Napoleon Says:

    I enjoyed the film where the bus company employs some lovely-looking Seventies birds in hot pants as conductors. Why can’t they make films like that any more? Eh?

  24. Who Says:

    If things get a bit on a quiet side whilst making love, there’s nothing like a well timed ‘GET THIS BUS AARRRTTT’ to liven the whole sorry business up. Gives your companion quite a surprise. See my website for more hot sexy bedroom hints.

    *slopes off*

  25. extremelisteningmode Says:

    Nothing against the poor fellow, but On The Buses made me sad to have five functioning senses.

    There is no phrase in the English language strikes more fear into my heart than the words ‘saucy comedy’.

  26. Nick T Says:

    This was a very working class sit-com with Father Dear Father being a more middle class affair.

    Thanks to Tomy B Liar the class/comedy divide is behind us.

  27. Napoleon Says:

    ELM – So the phrase …

    “I’m going to rip out all your teeth with these pliers.”

    … as you sit chained to a chair wouldn’t strike more fear into your heart? We could have done with a few more of your sort on D-Day, you cold-hearted, steely-gazed, macho son of a bitch.

  28. Nick T Says:

    EL, what about “I’m a celebrity….”

  29. Badger Madge Says:

    SH: RE: RGPG from last week. Proof that money doesn’t buy class (or manners)

  30. Napoleon Says:

    RGPG?

    I can’t find my 2008 WWM code book.

  31. Swineshead Says:

    Rich Girl / Poor Girl… a very depressing (but quite well made) C4 piece last week.

  32. ugeine Says:

    About two weeks ago, I thought I’d do a blog on Danny Dyer’s Real Football Factories. This, I thought, would be an easy target, as I remembered watching it about a year ago and thinking it was crap. It’s been harder for lots of reasons. First, I had to watch the bloody thing again. It was just as crap as I remember it. Then, I realised just slating it for a pre perceived set of flaws was a bit Daily Mail. So now I’m trying to judge it on its’ merits. Which is even harder, as it has none.

  33. Napoleon Says:

    Oh, right. I didn’t watch that, as I assumed it would give me an embolism brought on by rage.

  34. extremelisteningmode Says:

    Ah, but Napoleon, that phrase would be more likely to strike fear in my bladder than heart. Though Nick is on to something with that phrase.

    In fact, i recant; the words striking most fear in my heart are ‘don’t you know who i am?’

Leave a Reply

