Just a Thought: De Burgh Spoils Breakfast

by

Had to share this lovely item, depite it being over a week old now.

Chris De Burgh appeared on BBC Breakfast to sing a tribute to the families of the Hillsborough victims in their week of grief, happily coinciding with his new album release, Footsteps – which judging by the snippet we heard is, as expected, bloody awful. In the clip, De Burgh manages to soil the memory of Byrds classic, Turn Turn with that trademark yawning vocal.

From his feigning shock at the presence of a 12 string, his outright destruction of a Beatles classic, his bizarre acapella tribute to ther scousers and the fawning smiles of Silverton and Turnbull, everything about this seems designed to curl the toes and put the viewer off their tea and toast.

Or maybe it’s just me.

Enjoy – and see you on the new site – if I don’t click the wrong button and blow it up over the weekend…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

129 Responses to “Just a Thought: De Burgh Spoils Breakfast”

  1. charliemingles Says:

    I cant access this link from my evil work computer, but surely it cant be any more excerable than his appearance on stars in their eyes with his looky-likey. I still wake up screaming thinking about that one.

    His resemblance to the child catcher from shitty titty bang bang has also, im sure been noted somewhere.

  2. Excelsior! Says:

    New site starts next week does it? Is there going to be a party?

    Will there be cake?

    And are you gonna post a link to the new site when it kicks off?

  3. piqued Says:

    What is wrong with The Byrds one? Has it got holes in it? Is it worm out? What the fucking hell does the pointless mono-browed short-arse think he’s playing at?

    Apart from his loathesome little voice it’s identical in every fucking way. It’s like me publishing Animal Farm and changing the pigs to Meercats

    Spoils Breakfast? He’s just fucked lunch

  4. Swineshead Says:

    It’s the speech for the people of Hillsborough that gets me – the faux-humility and screeching vocal. Ack!

  5. Do I Not Like That! Says:

    Even Nick of the T would be embarassed at that level of self promotion.

  6. Napoleon Says:

    In my opinion, De Burgh improves these songs. He should do more of this sort of thing. I for one would be first in the queue to buy ‘Traveller – Chris De Burgh sings the songs of Hawkwind’.

  7. piqued Says:

    I need a stiff drink before I can face that SH

  8. indy Says:

    what a prick.

  9. Napoleon Says:

    He has a beautiful voice. He’s the king of easy listening music. Because that’s what he does – he makes it eeeeeasy to listen to.

  10. Swineshead Says:

    I like the fact that he drops in little gems like the number of records he’s sold.

  11. Do I Not Like That! Says:

    Right I am going out in the next half an hour. I may or may not be in more than one rock stars company this afternoon. I will see.

  12. Napoleon Says:

    Wouldn’t you if you’d sold that many records? I would. I would also boast that I’d written the incredible ‘Lady In Red’. A lot. Until it became tiresome.

  13. Do I Not Like That! Says:

    He didn’t seem too excited about Gateshead and Bournemouth, and poor old Dave up in Scotia will not get a chance too see him.

  14. indy Says:

    the only thing that brings joy to this de brugh thing is that the money he’s making is going to proper song writers, not lousy one-hit-wonders

  15. charliemingles Says:

    Napoleon – im not sure its technically a queue if its just one man in a sleeping bag surrounded by people laughing and brandishing flaming torches.

  16. piqued Says:

    Sorry SH, when he said ‘I think acapella is the way to do this one,’ likes he’s about to position his arse for a beer shit, I turned it off. Was an obsequious little fart.

  17. piqued Says:

    Sorry ‘what’ an ob…’ etc., he’s rattled my cage

  18. Napoleon Says:

    Mingles – FUCK YOU! I’ll have you know there’ll be me, a load of mentally-ill people and an army of menopausal women outside HMV in our sleeping bags. That’s a queue, that is, you monkey-faced paedophile!

  19. indy Says:

    from wiki:

    “In a recent interview, de Burgh revealed how the late Diana, Princess of Wales came to see him perform at a private concert; and how after the performance, Diana approached him backstage to thank him for writing the song “The Lady in Red”.”

    this man is REALLY cashing on british traumas.

  20. Do I Not Like That! Says:

    As You’ll never walk alone is sung at every Liverpool homematch, (On European nights it does make the hair of your neck stand on end), I cannot see what his Acapella version brings to the people of Liverpool.

  21. indy Says:

    i get visions of de burgh flying in to new orleans 2005 with a special-chartered plane just to stroll down amongst the katrina-victims doing an acapella version of “walking on sunshine”.

  22. piqued Says:

    ‘Diana approached him backstage to thank him for writing the song “The Lady in Red”.”’

    I suppose that’s where Princess Diana and I have to beg to differ as I’d be more inclined to smear excrement over his mouth and pluck off one of his nuts for writing Lady in Red.

  23. Napoleon Says:

    DINLT – It brings closure. Like that word? ‘Closure’ … ‘Clooooosuuuure’. Feeling sick yet? Goood, good …

  24. piqued Says:

    ‘I cannot see what his Acapella version brings to the people of Liverpool.’

    Murderous rage would suit me

  25. Napoleon Says:

    Piqued – Except you wouldn’t, as you haven’t actually got a violent bone in your body in real life. What you’d really do is be introduced to De Burgh, shake his hand, make small talk, then leave. Then you’d go on your blog about what a cunt he is, and how you should have torn off his testicles for writing ‘Lady In Red’. Spineless, I call it.

  26. indy Says:

    ‘Diana approached him backstage to thank him for writing the song “The Lady in Red”.”’

    indy approached him backstage to “thank” him for writing the song “The Lady in Red” by daggering him violently “to sleep”.

  27. Do I Not Like That! Says:

    Rock Stars…this afternoon….anyone???

  28. Napoleon Says:

    DINLT – What do you mean?

  29. Swineshead Says:

    I have to admit Napoleon’s last comment made me guffaw.

    We wouldn’t have you any otgher way, Piquedy boy.

  30. piqued Says:

    Blast, busted.

    *does a press up*

  31. charliemingles Says:

    hello! 999, what service do you require: Police, fire, ambulance or chris de burgh.

  32. Do I Not Like That! Says:

    Nap..I thought Nick of the T might have understood.

  33. piqued Says:

    http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/showbiz/article-23680578-details/Singing+sensation+Susan+Boyle+has+a+makeover/article.do

    Phwoar

  34. Do I Not Like That! Says:

    A bit of West London musical heritage.
    http://www.eelpie.org/

  35. extremelisteningmode Says:

    Jesus. Those poor Scousers have suffered enough.

    Always thought De Burgh was weird. he’s a musician who clearly doesn’t like music.

  36. indy Says:

    piqued: oooh! a burberry scarf! that’s posh, innit?

  37. indy Says:

    “Meanwhile, a female vicar has compared the scottish singer to Jesus Christ. Reverend Angela Tilby, speaking on Radio 4, said: “When she came on people laughed at her but as soon as she opened her mouth the mood altered. Those watching tapped into something we don’t understand. It reminded me bizarrely of how the gospels speak of Jesus.”

    it reminds me how the germans speak of ‘itler.

  38. Napoleon Says:

    Hmm … I’ve got an in-growing toenail. I’m not sure whether to tackle it with a Stanley knife or an X-Acto craft knife. Both instruments have their dangers. Any suggestions?

    Plus, where’s Clarry gone? I’m desperate for a shit.

  39. piqued Says:

    I know Indy she looks right nice

    I’d use the X-Acto, NC, the blades are narrower to allow easier access.

    Though I advise you to cut your fucking nails in the first instance, Nebacanezar Bonaparte

  40. piqued Says:

    (or Nebuchadnezzar if we wish to be pedantic)

  41. indy Says:

    np: where is it in-growing in? your arse?

  42. indy Says:

    (wish to be pedantic)

  43. piqued Says:

    (there you go then Indy, happy to help… where is everyone? Fancy a fag?)

  44. Nick T Says:

    I couldn’t bring myself to listen to anymore so missed the Hillsborough thing.

    Dreadful, desperate, embarrassing and he plays G like a ninny.

    If I ever get as loathsome as he, whilst plying my wares, you have my permission to break my nose.

    Speaking of my wares……

  45. Napoleon Says:

    *picks up the X-Acto*

    YAROOO!

    Someone call 999! Get me Chris De Burgh!

  46. myopiniononstuff Says:

    I use those tiny scissors you get in sewing kits, Napoleon.

  47. Swineshead Says:

    *brain is being done in by adservers and whatnot*

  48. myopiniononstuff Says:

    Has anyone listened to that Easy Star’s Lonely Hearts Dub Band at all? Is it good or gimmicky…or both?

  49. piqued Says:

    Jesus, why don’t you just keep your nails cut guyz, yeah… hey, you’ll save on socks too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1oewkojhigyt

  50. Napoleon Says:

    Dave – I’ve tried such dainty methods in the past, and they don’t cut the mustard. I need to get a knife under the nail, lever the bugger free of the skin wot’s grown round it, twist said knife and cut through it afore it springs back under the skin. I need some weight behind the blade to do it proper, like.

  51. piqued Says:

    Is this what WWM has become? NC describing in brutal detail how he deals with hygiene mis-management…

    Jesus

    (I fucking love it)

  52. Nick T Says:

    I refuse to get any of your references Dave until you acknowledge the video I made and the Spotify link I posted for you Dave, FOR YOU!

  53. Napoleon Says:

    Nick – Looked at Dave’s site recently?

  54. Who Says:

    Surely as Dave is your personal servant Nappers, one of his jobs is to chew your toenails off?

  55. myopiniononstuff Says:

    You’re further gone then I then. A level 6 toenail, I suspect. I’m still on level 3, although it does show signs of yellowing so might thicken before long.

    Perhaps you could scrape the paste underneath the toe and post it to Seriously Strong Cheddar. They’re doing an envirophone thing to fill their new tubs of spread.

  56. Nick T Says:

    No Naps, I haven’t. Has he posted a link to it?

  57. Napoleon Says:

    Who – I can, and do, chew off my own toenails, thanks very much. Indeed, I tend to do said manoeuvre nude. Imagine, if you can stand it, a stark naked, hairy, balding man with a beer-belly with one foot lifted to his mouth, exposing his cock, balls and anus to you, Who, in grotesque detail.

    Actually, that made even me feel a bit sick …

  58. myopiniononstuff Says:

    I called you beautiful and embedded the video.

    And my blog’s for my benefit, not yours. So stay away from it.

  59. myopiniononstuff Says:

    Who – you so obviously fancy my wonderful online personality it’s frankly embarrassing. You’re like a dog on heat.

  60. piqued Says:

    ‘Imagine, if you can stand it, a stark naked, hairy, balding man with a beer-belly with one foot lifted to his mouth, exposing his cock, balls and anus to you, Who, in grotesque detail.’

    Mum! You’ll like this…

  61. Napoleon Says:

    A dog on heat? I’ve yet to encounter that phenomenon. What do they do? Spunk up a lot?

  62. myopiniononstuff Says:

    I probably should have called her a bitch on heat, but that would just be rude. They usually find the nearest stuffed toy or pillow and dehumanise it until the said stuffed toy/pillow develops an attachment disorder and starts molesting pin cushions, beany babies or anything else not its own size.

  63. myopiniononstuff Says:

    Who, I’m not saying that about you, I’m saying it about dogs on heat. I know that you’d be classier about it all and at least by my wonderful online personality some Ferro Rochers from the BP round the corner first.

    I’m off to read Shogun.

  64. Nick T Says:

    I was ignorant to that fact Dave, therefore you can understand my point yes?

  65. Nick T Says:

    I fcking loved Shogun and the one he wrote after.

  66. piqued Says:

    Was that Brigette Jones?

  67. Napoleon Says:

    Was that the one with Keith Carradine in it? Or David Carradine? On the telly, like?

  68. piqued Says:

    No, it was Rene Zellswiggerz

  69. Nick T Says:

    I think it was Richard Chamberline (?) Naps

  70. Napoleon Says:

    I don’t remember her being in it. She’d have been a girl, surely? Back in the ’70s? Or was it the ’80s they made it?

    She’d still be a young ‘un, either way.

    *scratches arse*

  71. Swineshead Says:

    Hello?
    Am I alone?

  72. charliemingles Says:

    2 minutes without a comment on your site and you think youre alone. you needy little wastrel. yooooooouve changed.

  73. Swineshead Says:

    My computer is dying…

    *calls florist*

  74. charliemingles Says:

    ive put in a call to de burgh – he’ll be right round.

  75. piqued Says:

    Dave, that little blue icon when you post is more twee than puppies frolicking in goose down

  76. Napoleon Says:

    It was Richard Chamberlain, Nick, you’re right. I’m thinking of ‘Kung-Fu’ with either Keith or David Carradine.

  77. Napoleon Says:

    Your computer’s dying? Mine did that the other day. I’m now using a laptop borrowed off of him in the top flat. It’s a piece of old shit.

  78. charliemingles Says:

    anyone know how I can get my little monkey face to appear as my icon?

  79. Swineshead Says:

    It’s the time on the clock. It confused my face.

  80. Swineshead Says:

    It’s not so much dying as just lost its zimmer-frame.

    PCs die all the time. Macs just grow senile a few weeks after you buy them. Not sure which is worse.

  81. Napoleon Says:

    Mingles – It’s complicated, so bear with me:

    Got to DOS.
    Type in: >run / wwm.mingles
    Then type: >error / go.mingles
    Then type: >run / mingles.monkey.face
    Then type: >run
    Then open up the control panel in Windows 98.
    Delete all programmes
    Open up DOS again
    Type: >error / no.programmes
    Then type: >run / monkey
    Then type: >run / monkey face?
    Then type: >run / please?
    Then reinstall Windows 2000
    After reinstall, open DOS
    Type: >run / error / prompt / monkeyface?/
    Then type >go!
    Then enter the correct password, and bingo.

  82. Nick T Says:

    I’ve only read the book. I never saw the telly one.

    I used to love all that Japanese stuff.

    “Monkey” and “The Water Margin”

  83. Napoleon Says:

    Macs are worse because you can’t just rip out their innards and start again. You have to go back and pour more money into Apple’s coffers for another souless white box that was obsolete six months before you bought it.

  84. Nick T Says:

    Why doesn’t everyone just get a Mac?

    *waits*

  85. charliemingles Says:

    anyone remember ‘johnny reggae reggae’, a novelty song from the 70’s?

    it was by some nom de plume of noted stroke mouthed sodomite jonathan king.

    I can get the fucker out of my head.

  86. Napoleon Says:

    “Why doesn’t everyone just get a Mac?”

    1. Not as powerful
    2. Cost more
    3. Run exactly the same programs as PCs
    4. I fancy playing something other than The Sims 2

  87. Napoleon Says:

    Never trusted Jonathan King. It’s the glasses, see? Dead giveaway.

    That said, Una Paloma Blanca’s fun to sing along to when you’re on holiday in Magaluf.

  88. charliemingles Says:

    dont start the fascinating mac versus pc debate napoleon. you’ll clear the room.

    *looks round empty room*

    Oh, go on then

  89. Swineshead Says:

    You can rip out their innards… who told you that rubbish?

  90. Nick T Says:

    1. How much power do you want and why?
    2. That’s because they’re better
    3. Yes but better
    4. I don’t know about playing games on them.
    5.
    and
    6.

  91. Napoleon Says:

    Swineshead – What do you mean? Have you never experienced the fun of replacing a PC’s motherboard? Why, it’s one of the most entertaining ways a man can …

    … who’s that snoring?

  92. Napoleon Says:

    1. More than a Mac’s ever had.
    2. No, they’re a designer product bought by people as a lifestyle accessory and not a tool for actually doing anything useful.
    3. ‘Fraid not. A high end PC packs a lot more juice, hence better performance.
    4. That’s because you own a Mac. There are no games.

  93. Swineshead Says:

    I’ve got an old Mac G4, from the days when you could rip out a macs innards. Admittedly them new fangled macbooks have no entry…

    *falls into self-induced coma*

    *Patrick off of Eastenders holds his hand*

  94. Nick T Says:

    Was that JK. Great tune….

  95. Nick T Says:

    Here you go Mingles http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IhyyxBVe4To

  96. Napoleon Says:

    Swineshead – You should give building a PC a go. It’s duller than putting together flat-pack furniture.

  97. charliemingles Says:

    napoleon – yes, well, you can say what you like about king but theres one thing for sure, hes certainly a very handsome and charismatic man – not to mention having the lythe sexual magnetism of a young panther.

    Also, what a great sense of humour – what was he up to with those with those coloured wigs LOL

    So, in short, I for one can definitely see what all those teenage boys he forcibly buggered saw in him.

    what a catch.

  98. Napoleon Says:

    Mingles – I’m not denying Jonathan King had Burt Reynolds good looks and Nigel Havers levels of charm.

  99. charliemingles Says:

    anyone see havers on ‘ ive never seen star wars’? he came over very well I thought.

    even twat face brigstock is just about bearable

  100. Napoleon Says:

    I don’t mind Marcus Brigstock. He used to do this thing on the radio that was quite funny. Played a thick-headed public schoolboy. Can’t remember the name.

  101. charliemingles Says:

    wembley-hogg, i think he was called. didnt really enjoy that. one joke repeated ad infinitum, a bit like the pub landlord.

    still, what the fuck do I know. Im building a supermarket into a fucking bank.

  102. Napoleon Says:

    You’re building a supermarket into a bank? That’s easy! Take all the beans off the shelves, replace them with money, paint ‘BANK’ over the supermarket sign and tell your till girls that they can’t approve loans to anyone unless they already have substantial sums of money in their accounts.

  103. piqued Says:

    I like Brigstock too. He’s a breathe of fresh air on The Now Show which contains the lukewarm Punt and Dennis

    Though I did enjoy Dennis in the Never Seen Star Wars with that little roadkill fella

    Ironically, Never Seen Star Wars is much better on the radio, Phil Jupitus had a colonic, the sound was incredible

  104. charliemingles Says:

    thats pretty much the approach we’re taking napoleon.

    if youre looking for a project managers job, I might be able to fix you up. we could do with dynamic young razor-sharp go-getters like yourself.

  105. Napoleon Says:

    I’ve never seen ‘I’ve Never Seen Star Wars’.

  106. Swineshead Says:

    Plans for the weekend then?

  107. charliemingles Says:

    I dont mind him, just never thought he was particularly funny.

    its the size and shape of his head that bothers me most though.

  108. piqued Says:

    It’s on i-player, avoid this weeks as it’s got David Davis on it.

    Plans SH? So many plans, ooh, it’sd plan city over here

    *smiles weakly*

    *drinks White Lightening in park*

  109. charliemingles Says:

    I have front seats for bob dylan at the edinburgh playhouse on sunday.

    looking forward to seeing the turtle faced old bastard

  110. piqued Says:

    Apparently White Lightening is fermented corn syrup…

    *glugs*

  111. Napoleon Says:

    Plans? Me and the missus are off into the Peaks. Healthy, outdoors stuff.

    Followed by heavy drinking.

  112. Napoleon Says:

    David Quantick’s got one of his excellent Blagger’s Guides on Radio 2 tonight about Bob Dylan. I’ll have to see if I can remember to listen to it on the internet.

  113. Napoleon Says:

    Mingles – I can do that project manager’s job. As long as you don’t mind me stealing. Or not turning up for days. Or wanking over jazz mags in the store cupboard. Or pitching up to work pissed.

  114. charliemingles Says:

    I’ll give it a listen napoleon.

  115. piqued Says:

    His show on Radio 4 recently was disappointing

  116. Swineshead Says:

    Nice. It’s going to rain I think.

  117. Napoleon Says:

    Swineshead – It’s going to rain? Aw, fuck it. I hate hiking in the fucking rain. It stinks. STINKS!

    Piqued – Have you heard any of his Blagger’s Guides? They’re superb.

  118. piqued Says:

    I’ve not NC, I’ll have a listen…

    Peaks sounds nice though, hope it doesn’t rain too

    Have nice weekends all, I’m outta here

  119. Swineshead Says:

    *tries to combine playing Saints Row with fixing past WWM article format*

    *fails*

  120. Swineshead Says:

    A small girl just shouted at a small boy outside my window:

    YOUR FAVOURITE FOOD IS POO POO

  121. charliemingles Says:

    it probably is swineshead. it probably is

    enjoy the weekend, hope you get the new site launched okay. look forward to a dazzling glorious new beast on monday.

  122. Napoleon Says:

    Swineshead – Have you played Bioshock yet? PLAY BIOSHOCK.

    Have a good ‘un, folks.

  123. Do I Not Like That! Says:

    I am pissed! The worrying thing is i am off to a party!

  124. Do I Not Like That! Says:

    and I am going to sing this song ACAPELLA!

  125. Do I Not Like That! Says:

    and I am going to sing this song ACAPELLA!

  126. Nick of the T Says:

    I love making new friends on the interweb…..http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-o54GYOwZE&feature=email

  127. Ez Moves Says:

    Me and my all friend is really enjoyed with your post i am really very impressed with you.
    Thanks for sharing…

  128. Darya Orfan Says:

    i like to enter the chalange as am into becoming a good chef

  129. Cartomante Says:

    Cartomante…

    […]Just a Thought: De Burgh Spoils Breakfast « Watch With Mothers[…]…

Leave a comment